Community
Search
Notices
Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Kyosho 540 Electric?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2006, 07:15 PM
Michaelvg11

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kyosho 540 Electric?

Hello All. I am a newbie. I have been flying gas planes for many years, however, since I live in a small condo outside of NYC, I don't have the room or place for ongoing maintenance, so I have decided to go electric. I am very interested in the Kyosho 540 Electric version plane. I will probably order it. The problem is I do not know enough about internal parts, batteries, charger, motors, etc. Everyone I talk to wants to sell me the most expensive, like hacker motors, speed controllers, or duralite batteries. I was hoping someone can breakdown the list of necessary accessories to get this flying with sample brands and maybe prices. This will give me a great jumpstart in understanding brands, quality and what I need to get into electric planes.
Your help is greatly appreciated.
Michael
Old 09-28-2006, 07:33 PM
normgoyer

Default RE: Kyosho 540 Electric?

Hi Michael, the best advice I can give you is don't buy junk, go for name brand from reputable vendors. You will not be sorry. You can't cheap your way into electrics. Norm
Old 09-28-2006, 09:27 PM
tIANci

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Mike - I was in your shoes about almost 2 years ago, I even asked how the heck do the servos work if the batt runs out? I did not know of the thing called BEC. What I can say is that named brands will always work but do not discount the cheap China stuff. This works for ESC and motors on the lower end. Lower end for me means planes that do not exceed 25 size.

Which Kyosho 540 are you talking about? Is it the Edge 540 50? That is not a small plane. If that is the plane then a set up can be as follows:

Motor - AXI 4130/16
Prop - APC 17x8
ESC - CC PHX85
Batt - FP3,300 3S (x2 in series)