Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 30 of 40 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast
Results 726 to 750 of 981

  1. #726

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    , ROMANIA
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Is there any flight simulator which includes this plane?

  2. #727

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    N. Richland Hills , TX
    Posts
    596
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    RealFlight has some Predators for download. They do not act too closely to the Nirto acft but are somewhat helpful.

  3. #728

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    KuchingSarawak, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Hi Guys!

    I found the link to this thread from Chris Anderson's awesome DIYdrones.com website. PapaJeff has done a terrific review and hosting job here too! [sm=thumbs_up.gif]

    Been reading a bit about the nose steering issues posts here and would like to share a solution for mine (not NitroPlanes Predator).
    I use an external V-tail mixer, a 'Y' connector instead of using V-tail mixer on TX. My setup allows separate elevator/nose steering and elevator inputs as per normal at minimum weight/space cost.

    The wheel steering servo is connected as follows:
    From V-tail mixer connect one lead to elevator channel on receiver. The 'Y' connector goes into the rudder channel. The remaining lead from V-tail mixer and nose wheel steering servo is connected to 'Y' connector. Connect the 2 servos controlling V-tail to the V-tail mixer output terminals and you're all set![sm=biggrin.gif]
    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ih4z0awyFL0[/youtube]
    dA maJiK Zmok

  4. #729

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    562
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Good solution to the nose-wheel problem! But......make sure you put the wings on before takeoff.

    Who makes the predator shown in your video?

  5. #730

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    KuchingSarawak, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    TMPro

    dA maJiK Zmok

  6. #731
    CaptainRandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Fort Pierce, FL
    Posts
    2,996
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    My nose wheel steering works great too. I just have it tied to the aileron channel with a Y harness. Only takes a tad of steering to keep her straight, and taxing around at low speed is no problem using the right stick/ailerons either.

    The shock absorber/servo saver works great also.

    Oh and it flys well too. That's a plus
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qo39624.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	103.2 KB 
ID:	1182893   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nj25682.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	103.9 KB 
ID:	1182894  
    Capt. \"Pappy\"

  7. #732

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    KuchingSarawak, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Very interesting that shock absorber. I've had 1 stripped nose servo from a rough landing so far...

    Here's another version using spring wire. Simple but should work...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Om34616.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	49.9 KB 
ID:	1182932  
    dA maJiK Zmok

  8. #733
    CaptainRandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Fort Pierce, FL
    Posts
    2,996
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    I don't think that would save servo gears, but good for adjustment.
    Capt. \"Pappy\"

  9. #734

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garden City, KS
    Posts
    9
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    So does anybody know of putting a park 400 inrunner on a gearbox on the back of this plane?? What do you think??

    Thanks for any help.


  10. #735
    papajeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Opus,

    The Predator does not have much room within the cowl for a gearbox type of set up. It's really designed for a
    250 - 350watt outrunner motor which is a perfect fit with some short standoffs. These motors are readily
    available, reasonably priced and power the Predator just fine for "scale" type flying.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vt56274.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	18.0 KB 
ID:	1200191   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mh19634.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	27.2 KB 
ID:	1200192   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wb76636.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	15.6 KB 
ID:	1200193  

  11. #736

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    KuchingSarawak, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Papajeff,
    When I set up the ESC and battery in my (not Nitroplane) Predator like in your photo, with long battery leads thru the fuse and the receiver up front, I had huge interference problems. The plane was unflyable. Did you not not have any interference or signal loss problems? 
    dA maJiK Zmok

  12. #737
    papajeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    RaWe,

    I had no problems with my Predator, eventhough I extended the battery leads about 18". For the first few
    flights, I was using a Berg 7P receiver with my JR 9303 transmitter. Then I switched all my planes over to
    the 2.4 system. I believe that the 2.4 Spektrum system using a 6100 receiver, is the reason that I have had
    dozens of flights and never encountered a problem with control or range.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ki18594.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	18.5 KB 
ID:	1200721   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vq52457.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	21.3 KB 
ID:	1200722   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pn35388.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	12.0 KB 
ID:	1200723   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ql35336.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	11.6 KB 
ID:	1200724  

  13. #738

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    KuchingSarawak, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    An u didn't even have to braid or twist the battery leads... Did the Kit manual specify this ESC battery set up? Just as well I don't have a 2.4gHz radio to try with so had to resolve d problem by other methods so it's flyin now. N'ways nice blog u have here!
    dA maJiK Zmok

  14. #739
    papajeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    RaWe,

    I'm pleased to hear that you have resolved the issue and that your Predator is now flying. Remember, with those
    long wings (63") and the short fuselage, the Predator should be flown in a "scale" manner and leave the acrobatics
    for one of your other planes. How about a photo or two of your Predator?


  15. #740

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Jeff,

    I see in one of the pictures on the Nitro Models site that the Predator has a camera dome on it. Directly under the pod.

    Is this your plane?

    If so where did you get the dome?
    Or do you know where to get one?


    Thanks,
    Curt

  16. #741
    papajeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Curt,

    Yes, it's my Predator and the dome is just a piece from one of my Grandson's toys. It was my attempt to make
    my Predator more scale-like. I did just order one of those new mini video cameras from Nitro;
    http://www.nitroplanes.com/mifpvcocaupt.htmland will start to do some flying videos just for fun. I'll
    post the results.



    ORIGINAL: IndiQa

    Jeff,

    I see in one of the pictures on the Nitro Models site that the Predator has a camera dome on it. Directly under the pod.

    Is this your plane?

    If so where did you get the dome?
    Or do you know where to get one?


    Thanks,
    Curt

  17. #742

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    21
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B



    Hi
        I've been reading this thread , with interest,  for the last few days. I'm just a begining flyer. mostly on simulator. I have a predator on order from hobbycity. The only one they have available is the TM Pro with 74 "  wingspain for $65 and a couple of  Turngy BL motors for  $16 and $19 . The downside is that it's a back order and the shipping is direct from Hong Kong at $27. Since the availablity of this plane is so scarce I went ahead with the order. It is promist for two weeks and one week shipping. I will let you know how I make out.
       Thank you Papa Jeff and the rest of the contributors. Excellent thread interesting plane.

                                                   Mike B


  18. #743

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    21
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    If anyone has some info on a Realflight sim I would appreciate it.

                             Mike B

  19. #744

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    562
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    I looked at the 74" Predator on Hobbycity with interest - it does look rather similar to the Nitroplane 63" one, but some of the innards shown on the site are a bit different. However, with a 6ft wingspan, it should be extra-cool! Please keep us posted on how your build and flying goes. Thanks...Chris

  20. #745

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    21
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B



    Hi Chris

    It seems real exciting, but if the stats are correct it acutualy has 30 sq inches less wing area.then the nitro. Id like to load it up with a cam and transmitter up the road. Have you seen Helomix's vid . The link is at post #585, fantastic, It must be really exciting the fly like that. I could use an opinon on a motor I bought a Turnigy 2209 1050kv Wt 1.6oz Thurst 28 oz ., because I thougth it wound balance better. I'm guessing the cam gear will weight at least 6 oz. Total weight might be 38 - 45 oz. Was wondering if a sronger motor might be better? If anyone could advise me on weight to thurst ratios I'd like to be informed.

    Mike B


  21. #746

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    562
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    OK, so your motor can do probably 180 watts and Hobbycity reviews agree with you at 28+ ounces of thrust. As I'm sure you already know, this plane is not to be flown in any way dramatically, unless you want the wings to come off, so you may have enough power and thrust to fly nicely. The motor is certainly very light. Bear in mind, if this is similar to the Nitroplanes model, your MAXIMUM prop diameter is 9", and you will need to put some kind of tail skid to avoid prop strikes on takeoff/landing.

    FYI, my setup is a RC1200 outrunner from Compass House (an Ebay store), with a 3-blade counter-rotating 9x7 prop from Hobbycity. The motor weighs 1.8 ounces, and Iget 230+ watts using two 1000mah 3S batteries in parallel (up front, to fit nicely.) With this setup it seems to fly easily on less than 1/2 throttle.

    Also FYI, I previously weighed some video equipment:

    FlyCamOne2 with SD card and bracket - 1.6 ounces
    Flip Mino - 3.3 ounces
    Tony Hawk Helmet cam with SD card and batteries - 3.5 ounces
    2.4GHz wireless videocamera with adapter and 9V battery - 2.8 ounces (poor performance &range)

    - So you can easily add a camera of some sort. In my case I would put the camera up front (luckily prop is at the back!!!) and use just one 1300mah battery (instead of 2x1000mah), which would save me 2.5 ounces, and still give me flight times of 10 minutes (it uses 90-100 mah per minute cruising around).

    Good luck with everything and please keep us posted...Chris

  22. #747

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    21
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B



    My plan for the camera is a 200 Milliwatt  transmitter (2.4 gig) with a high res miniture cam (420 lines res)from hobbywireless. probably with a 2.8 lens. Spent today hooking up a 2.4 gig reciever and an 7' LCD monitor to run on a 12V gel cell. Do you think I should try 900Meg instead. A pal gave me the transmitter as a gift.  Which setup worked best for you. I'm a little in love with being able to see from the cockpit maybe even fly from the cokpit.

        This guy Helomix flies wearing google monitors. Thanks for the advice
                                  Mike B



    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRbB-Bz4iP0


  23. #748

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    562
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    One of the things (other than laziness) that has slowed me down with aerial video is the fact that 2.4GHZ systems do not work with Spektrum - apparently the plane flies OK, but the video is adversely affected by interference. I can't remember where I got my 2.4GHz system, but is was only about $50 for everything, and worked inside the house OK; any distance away was a problem. I would suggest you try 900MHz, as apparently 1.2GHz is not legal in the US (don't know why.)

    Keep me posted...Chris

  24. #749

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    21
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Looks like Nitroplanes has the predator back in stock, if anyone is still reading this thread. I'm going to wait it out and see in the 74" one comes in from hobby city.

    Hay chris about the camera, I'll hold off from up grading my 2.4 gig system. But I may as well experiment with it since it's paid for.

    Mike B

  25. #750

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Freeport, IL
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    I purchased my predator from Nitro Planes a couple of weeks ago, because this sight sparked my interest. Question: has anybody assembled the plane per the manufacturers instructions without all of the upgrades? I have a small 4 channel transmitter and 6channel receiver on 72 mhz. Will the plane fly with just using the tail as elevator, no steering,and ailerons? I have a 400 and 450 speed motor, which one should I use?

    Thanks for your help

    JerCo 


Page 30 of 40 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.