Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Reply
Old 08-30-2010, 08:47 PM
  #901
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Samz,

Any possibility that you could post some photos as it sure seems that the construction of your
Predator is very different from the original. You can see, from the first few pages of this build
thread, that the hatch I made was in the perfect place as it did not compromise the fuselage
structure at all. Basically, the hatch needs to be placed so as to be able to expose the interior
of where the wing root is attached to the fuselage with the wing tube.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf10290.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	14.0 KB
ID:	1492903   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr53488.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	1492904   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj21639.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	27.3 KB
ID:	1492905   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx75000.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	17.0 KB
ID:	1492906  
papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 09:42 PM
  #902
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

will you be able to see the places where there is covering only?
i can barely see the spots myself and only know by touch
anyway ill see if i can get a camera 
i dont own one (see no use)
ill ask me sister (out of town and in college) [&:]
ill post as soon as i can
Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 11:27 PM
  #903
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Samz - You can see the inside of the fuselage from the front top hatch - use a flashlight if you need to. There will probably be several places where the bottom of the fuselage has square cutouts in the balsa to save weight.
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 12:03 AM
  #904
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

yes ive done that and run a wire to see if theyre actually balsa or not
but, how do i get them on camera?
Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 01:26 PM
  #905
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Samz

yes ive done that and run a wire to see if theyre actually balsa or not
but, how do i get them on camera?
I'm just trying to figure out how different the "new" design Predator is from the original.
Does yours look like the one in this thread? (all balsa construction)
Is the front hatch interior and the rear motor hatch interior the same as the original?
Is the wing root and the wing tube basically the same as the original?
Is the landing gear attached to the fuselage the same as the original?
Photos of these areas will be helpfull.
papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 06:33 PM
  #906
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B


Quote:
ORIGINAL: papajeff


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Samz

yes ive done that and run a wire to see if theyre actually balsa or not
but, how do i get them on camera?
I'm just trying to figure out how different the "new" design Predator is from the original.
Does yours look like the one in this thread? (all balsa construction)
Is the front hatch interior and the rear motor hatch interior the same as the original?
Is the wing root and the wing tube basically the same as the original?
Is the landing gear attached to the fuselage the same as the original?
Photos of these areas will be helpfull.
everything is the same
except for the fact there are holes in the bottom of the fuse
in your pictures the fuse is a solid balsa right?
well mine has like holes to (i guess) lighten it up

Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 09:17 PM
  #907
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B


here ya goes the reddish areas are the holes and the blue is where the tail is suppose to go
not very good at piknic but it sould give you a basic idea of where the holes are
(*done!)
Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 09:36 PM
  #908
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Samz - based on your photos, you need to use the opening just forward of where the gear mounts - that one is level with the point at which the wings attach. With that opening, you can get to the place where you would make some sort of attachment (see Papa J's earlier build section), which would allow you to attach and detach the wings, as well as connect/disconnect the servo extensions for the ailerons.

I did the same thing on mine. To hold the wings on, I used wall anchors - the ones that expand when you tighten them up. I used the smallest ones I could find, drilled the correct size hole in the inner face of the wing root, put them in and then tightened them up until the anchors expanded, permanently mounting it into the wing root. I then made matching holes in the fuse, and now use nylon bolts through those holes and into the anchors in the wing root. You only need one anchor for each wing. Of course, there's lots of other ways you can attach the wings, too.

Works for me! Hope this helps...Chris
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 01:26 AM
  #909
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

sooo just cut out the covering and make a door for it from other wood?
Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 07:37 AM
  #910
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Samz,

Chris is totally correct as to where and how to place your hatch. Since the original was all balsa sheeted,
the cutout piece was used as the hatch door. For your version, cut out the covering, as Chris stated, and
then make a door out of some balsa sheeting and you have your hatch.
papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 01:54 PM
  #911
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

alrighty thanks papa and chris

Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 02:44 PM
  #912
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

hmmm
instead of cutting a big hole for a hatch
do you think captain randy's idea for rubber bands under the wings will keep it stable? post #714
i dont wanna do something im going to regret (like huge hole in fuse)
and also having second thoughts on a motor and need experienced help
will the optima 300 brushless 2208-1100kv work? also does the motor have 128W like it says on the chart at the bottom of the page or is it 65W like it says on the title description
im not at all good with all the electrically stuff
please answer asap (school starts next week)
Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:54 PM
  #913
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Samz,

Just for compairson, I plan to use the HobbyPartz Monster Power 32 at 700wattsor 46 outrunner motor
at 800watts. http://www.hobbypartz.com/mopose.html You will need to get a motor that is close to
these or the E-flite outrunners are also a good choice.

If your fuselage, on the new version of the Predator,is constructed of a framework with open spaces
and the covering then is applied to the entire framework; then you can just make a hatch door for one
of the cut out areas (only if the placement of the cut out area is proper for access to the wing attachment
screw) which will only cover one of the cut out spaces that you have removed the covering from. In this
manner, you will not compromise the structure of the fuselage at all. I hope that you get what I mean.
papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 05:07 PM
  #914
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

does kv or watts measrure the power of the motor?
and also what i meant by my previous post was to just hold the wings together with rubberbands outside and under the fuse
i dont want to cut a hole when i can just go with another quite more simpler idea
ill probably also have to get alot stronger rod also
Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:12 PM
  #915
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

aha!
i just found the ups and downs to motor power 
with a more reasoned choice...
how about the optima 400 brushless 920kv 140W
Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:14 AM
  #916
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Samz,

Give the rubberband method a try as you know that it has worked for other guys. Again, with your motor
choice, you need to have a motor that will give you around 150 watts per pound, just to play it safe. It is
always better to have 25% or so extra power. Motor Kv is important, but the wattage value is the better
manner to determine power and again it is always best to test your power set up with a watt meter.
then, and only then, will you know the exact power capability of your plane.
papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 05:06 PM
  #917
Pappy-86
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 111
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Repainted my Predator and added steerable nose wheel very simple set up cost $4.00 and took 15 min to install.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22965.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	74.2 KB
ID:	1495784   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg16478.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	94.9 KB
ID:	1495785   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kp34747.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	114.0 KB
ID:	1495786  
Pappy-86 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 01:50 PM
  #918
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

alpha 370 1200kv 225W better?

Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 02:06 PM
  #919
Samz
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

and also looking at pappy's predator,
why is everyone using battery-esc extensions instead of esc-motor?
im new to rc planes completely but from research everyone says battery-esc can kill the esc over time?
anyways i dont know which to extend and i also dont know how XP
Samz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 04:27 PM
  #920
Pappy-86
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 111
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

I was told the same thing extend the motor wires not the battery wires but as you can see I didn't listen and my set up worked well for me. I guess you have to like flying this sort of plane to enjoy flying it just not my cup of tea sets in the garage collecting dust most the time after Sundays flight I took the motor and speed controller out and hung it back up to collect more dust if anyone in the Sacramento area that might want to trade it for a ep warbird type pm me.
Pappy-86 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 06:49 PM
  #921
Ferenium523
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Hi papa john, sorry I have one more question about my predator than i'll get out of your hair. How do i get my battery to connect with my motor considering that is about 3 feet from the front to the back? Thanks in advance!


Ferenium523 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 06:00 PM
  #922
Ferenium523
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Hi papa john, sorry I have one more question about my predator than i'll get out of your hair. How do i get my battery to connect with my motor considering that is about 3 feet from the front to the back? Thanks in advance!

Ferenium523 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 07:22 PM
  #923
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

You just need to make an extension lead - presumable a Deans male to female, of the correct length. Use reasonably thick wire, say 12ga.

Hope this helps...Chris
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:38 PM
  #924
Ferenium523
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

How would i make an extension lead???
Ferenium523 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 10:40 PM
  #925
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Assuming that your battery has a female Deans on it, and the ESC has a male Deans plug, you need to solder a male and female on the opposite ends of two pieces of 12ga wire the correct length to bridge the gap. If you're not familiar with doing this kind of thing, your local hobby shop will be able to help you.
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:13 AM.