Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Reply
Old 09-10-2010, 06:29 AM
  #926
Ferenium523
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

I dont think it does. Each one has one big hole and one small hole and you plug them together big to small?
Ferenium523 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:36 PM
  #927
Ferenium523
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down?
Ferenium523 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:37 PM
  #928
Ferenium523
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down? 
Ferenium523 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:39 PM
  #929
Ferenium523
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down? 
Ferenium523 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:42 AM
  #930
Ferenium523
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , NJ
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down?
Ferenium523 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:31 PM
  #931
WordyBirdy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Papa Jeff,
This thread is probably the longest reaching at 38 pages+ and years and years long. Thank you for your tutorage. I hope you will continue to share your expert in the UAV planes (pred. reap.), as a great favor to us all.
Now, I have a few questions regarding Tx Rx configuration. Simple questions that tech support at nitro-planes couldn't answer, correctly.
Hope you will be ofhelp?  
WordyBirdy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 10:45 PM
  #932
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Wordy - What do you need to know?
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 06:20 AM
  #933
WordyBirdy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

lejongleur,
Ihave the predator fully assembled and ready to fly. I did not re-disign the front landing gear, nor add another servo and make a rudder out of the back stab...so I amat the mercy of mother nature during take off.
Typically (as been the case for most of my puller-planesduring take off)trimming the rudder a click or two leads to a very straight runway path.
The problem I am facing is correctable,as the v-wing elevators are functioning on two different servo's. With a Y-harness, I place both servo leads into channel 2. But I can't seem to figure out how to mixchannel 2 with channel 1 in my Ct6 Rx.I have experimented withnearly every concievable solution (both in electronics, and Ct-6 program software)butremain mystified...
WordyBirdy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 07:11 AM
  #934
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ferenium523

Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down?
No need to be sorry.........you got the PAPA part and that's all that's necessary! When this happens,
you need to get a "reversing Y connector" and your problem will be solved.
papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 07:22 AM
  #935
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

WORDY,

Since I use a DX7 (Spektrum 2.4), I am not familiar with your radio. However, let me check my setup
and I think that between Lejongleur and me, we can get you going in the right direction.
papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 07:40 AM
  #936
WordyBirdy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Iamthankful for any help regarding the radio, servo mixing obsticle...I foundtwo veryinformativeposts (video & written) that allowed me to access and program the Rx and Tx - binding both. However, neither included inforegarding channel mixing on a v-wing tail.My Tx is programmed at the basic4 channel ACRO, with mixing potential.
Regards
WordyBirdy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 07:58 AM
  #937
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B



Wordy,

My DX7 has a setup screen for "WINGTYPE" and a several choices which include V-tail. When this
choice is activated, my V-tail operates properly. Does your radio have this option?

Look at what I just found and tell me if this helps at all with setting up your Tx for V-tail.
http://www.mycoolheli.com/t6config.html

papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:44 PM
  #938
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Wordy - If I read your prior post correctly, you are joining the vatail servos with a y-connector, right? If that is that case, you will not be able to use any rudder function, as they will both move in the same direction all the time (if they move in the opposite directions, perhaps you can use the opposite servo horn on one of them, or use a special Y-connector as Papa J suggested.

If you only have 4 channels, and can program for a V-Tail, I suggest you use the Y-connector on the ailerons, and use a separate channel for each of the two vtail control surfaces (one rudder, one elevator.) If you find that the tail does not perform as expected, switch the rudder and elevator connections.

Optimally, if you can program for VTail (built-into your radio), and have 5+ channels, here's the configuratrion for a Spektrum setup:

Right wing - Aileron
Left Wing - Aux1
Vtail1 - Rudder
Vtail2 - Elevator

Vtail1 & 2 may need to be swapped. When you pull back on the elevator, both Vtails go up. Rudder left - left Vtail goes up, right Vtail goes down. Rudder right - vice versa.

Potential bad news - If your radio is the CT6 equivalent from Hobbycity:

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8338

If specifically states that is is unsuitable for mixing or vtail. In that case you are definitely limited to coupling the two vtails together (as elevator only), and using the ailerons to turn the plane. Perhaps you already knew all this!

Hope some of this may help...Chris
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 09:04 PM
  #939
MotherPlaneRC
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Hey guys, I'm doing some build videos on the predator with a little help from this thread. Check it out and give some suggestion etc.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z3_CUto3v3g

and

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g-3hT_d3zz8

Thanks.
MotherPlaneRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 12:51 PM
  #940
MotherPlaneRC
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

How well do these things glide if at all and what is the longest flight time you have gotten out of these uav's?

Thanks, Ace.
MotherPlaneRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:32 PM
  #941
WordyBirdy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Papa Jeff, I watched that video link several times, and checked into the written manual. Ifinally figured it out. I now have the servos opporating as designed.
WordyBirdy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:57 PM
  #942
WordyBirdy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

lejonguer. Thanks,I finally got the correct program and mytx/rx is working fine. However, the predator weighs alot more than the 1.75 lb recommended fly weight. I had to continue adding lead weight to the nose (about 6 oz ) to get the CG right.
I then jumped on a bicyle (holdingthe plane at the CG) and took off peddlingto nearly 20 miles an hour before the wings began togenerate enough lift to counter the planes weight.
So Iput the bike away, found an abandonedparking lot and taxied off, but the darn plane wouldn't stay straightlongenough to gainflight speed. Even with rudder working, I guess Ineed to put in a working front steering gear.Iwas very tempted to just toss the plane (as I have done with a manymotored glider) but having that prop in the back raises a more cautious approach. Iwill work on the nose gear.
WordyBirdy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:36 PM
  #943
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Wordy - My Predator comes in at 32 ounces - almost 40 ounces with the two batteries I use in it. I am using a 1000mah 3S and a 1300mah 3S (in parallel) to get the cg right, with no added weight. I would say that takeoff speed is less than 10mph. When you were testing using a bike, it was probably not possible for you to assess the angle of attack that the airplane was at, was it?

Mine has a small outrunner generating around 220 watts with a 8.5x6 or 9x6 counter rotating prop. This gives it an easy takeoff in about 10-15 feet and lets it climb very steeply. the ESC is in the tail with an extension to the batteries right up front. I am using a Spektrum AR7000 receiver, and Hobbycity HXT900 servos. No separate BEC is needed as I am only running 3S.

My only problem with this plane is that it is so hard to tell what it is doing in the air - it looks freakish from most angles, and I keep thinking its rolling one way when its actually doing the opposite. Painting it yellow would help, but how many Predators are out there intended to be visible? It would probably fly for close to 20 minutes, as it seems to use about 100mah/minute.

By the way, I did not bother to put on a steerable nosewheel, although that would be helpful. I fly at a club which has a min airport with two blacktop runways, wide enough even for my limited skills to line up and put the Predator down once per flight. NO touch and go practice, though.

Hope this helps...Chris
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 01:42 PM
  #944
papajeff
Thread Starter
 
papajeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Wordy,

My Predator flies just the same way as Chris has explained in his post. Since I fly off grass fields,
I really have not had the need for any nose wheel steering as the plane just rotates in about 30 -
50 feet with no problems. I also needed some extra weight in the nose.
papajeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 09:04 PM
  #945
WordyBirdy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

lejongleur, Thanks for the feedback. I agree that the bicycle method was not truly reliant, but I also manuevered the predator as I peddled to create a best case scenerio. Ibelieve the 20 mph (maybe Ihad a tail-wind; Ifailed to check at the time)was about what it would take to off-set the weight. SO,after reading your and PapaJeff's reply, Igutted out the 500 motor, 50a esc, and replaced it with a 400rimfire, and a 25a esc. That certainly lightened the rear, and hopefully Iwont have to add any weight to the front nose to get correct CG.
Explaining to me the liftoff and flight characteristics of your predator eases my concern. Ihave heard too many horror stories regarding this model plane.
Wordy
WordyBirdy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 09:08 PM
  #946
WordyBirdy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Papa Jeff, I decided not to go with a steerable front gear. I think I'll go on grass too. I thank you for the input. Iplan on flying this plane tomorrow...now that I have lightened the load.
WordyBirdy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 12:30 PM
  #947
dditch
 
dditch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 594
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Nice detail on the thread PapaJeff!
dditch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 04:07 AM
  #948
orbjeff
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: , WI
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Hi there,

Thanks for the great post. It has been very helpful!

Jeff

orbjeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 05:25 PM
  #949
alanwf
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

I recently picked up this plane, but the carbon wing tube is missing. Can someone give me the specs on the tube so I can order one? I need the diameter and length, and perhaps the wall thickness. Thanks in advance.
alanwf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:05 AM
  #950
jeskimo5
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: , IL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

Hello everyone,
I am building RQ-1 as my first 'big' R/C aircraft ( I know, I know, not a trainer... I'll deal with it) So I just want to run my list of components past the experts to see if they are good enough:
I am going to use a Spectrum DX6i controller
jeskimo5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:19 PM.