Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 38 of 39 FirstFirst ... 2836373839 LastLast
Results 926 to 950 of 974

  1. #926

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    , NJ
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    I dont think it does. Each one has one big hole and one small hole and you plug them together big to small?

  2. #927

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    , NJ
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down?

  3. #928

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    , NJ
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down? 

  4. #929

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    , NJ
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down? 

  5. #930

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    , NJ
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down?

  6. #931

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Papa Jeff,
    This thread is probably the longest reaching at 38 pages+ and years and years long. Thank you for your tutorage. I hope you will continue to share your expert in the UAV planes (pred. reap.), as a great favor to us all.
    Now, I have a few questions regarding Tx Rx configuration. Simple questions that tech support at nitro-planes couldn't answer, correctly.
    Hope you will be ofhelp?  

  7. #932

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    562
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Wordy - What do you need to know?

  8. #933

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    lejongleur,
    Ihave the predator fully assembled and ready to fly. I did not re-disign the front landing gear, nor add another servo and make a rudder out of the back stab...so I amat the mercy of mother nature during take off.
    Typically (as been the case for most of my puller-planesduring take off)trimming the rudder a click or two leads to a very straight runway path.
    The problem I am facing is correctable,as the v-wing elevators are functioning on two different servo's. With a Y-harness, I place both servo leads into channel 2. But I can't seem to figure out how to mixchannel 2 with channel 1 in my Ct6 Rx.I have experimented withnearly every concievable solution (both in electronics, and Ct-6 program software)butremain mystified...

  9. #934
    papajeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B


    ORIGINAL: Ferenium523

    Sorry! I just realized I've been calling you Papa John the whole time. Papa Jeff, 1 more question, for the predator, the two servos that control pitch. When I plug them in both to one channel using a y connector, they go opposite ways, any way I could program them or do something to make them go in the same direction when I move the stick up or down?
    No need to be sorry.........you got the PAPA part and that's all that's necessary! When this happens,
    you need to get a "reversing Y connector" and your problem will be solved.

  10. #935
    papajeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    WORDY,

    Since I use a DX7 (Spektrum 2.4), I am not familiar with your radio. However, let me check my setup
    and I think that between Lejongleur and me, we can get you going in the right direction.

  11. #936

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Iamthankful for any help regarding the radio, servo mixing obsticle...I foundtwo veryinformativeposts (video & written) that allowed me to access and program the Rx and Tx - binding both. However, neither included inforegarding channel mixing on a v-wing tail.My Tx is programmed at the basic4 channel ACRO, with mixing potential.
    Regards

  12. #937
    papajeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B



    Wordy,

    My DX7 has a setup screen for "WINGTYPE" and a several choices which include V-tail. When this
    choice is activated, my V-tail operates properly. Does your radio have this option?

    Look at what I just found and tell me if this helps at all with setting up your Tx for V-tail.
    http://www.mycoolheli.com/t6config.html


  13. #938

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    562
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Wordy - If I read your prior post correctly, you are joining the vatail servos with a y-connector, right? If that is that case, you will not be able to use any rudder function, as they will both move in the same direction all the time (if they move in the opposite directions, perhaps you can use the opposite servo horn on one of them, or use a special Y-connector as Papa J suggested.

    If you only have 4 channels, and can program for a V-Tail, I suggest you use the Y-connector on the ailerons, and use a separate channel for each of the two vtail control surfaces (one rudder, one elevator.) If you find that the tail does not perform as expected, switch the rudder and elevator connections.

    Optimally, if you can program for VTail (built-into your radio), and have 5+ channels, here's the configuratrion for a Spektrum setup:

    Right wing - Aileron
    Left Wing - Aux1
    Vtail1 - Rudder
    Vtail2 - Elevator

    Vtail1 & 2 may need to be swapped. When you pull back on the elevator, both Vtails go up. Rudder left - left Vtail goes up, right Vtail goes down. Rudder right - vice versa.

    Potential bad news - If your radio is the CT6 equivalent from Hobbycity:

    http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8338

    If specifically states that is is unsuitable for mixing or vtail. In that case you are definitely limited to coupling the two vtails together (as elevator only), and using the ailerons to turn the plane. Perhaps you already knew all this!

    Hope some of this may help...Chris

  14. #939

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Hey guys, I'm doing some build videos on the predator with a little help from this thread. Check it out and give some suggestion etc.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z3_CUto3v3g

    and

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g-3hT_d3zz8

    Thanks.

  15. #940

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    How well do these things glide if at all and what is the longest flight time you have gotten out of these uav's?

    Thanks, Ace.

  16. #941

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Papa Jeff, I watched that video link several times, and checked into the written manual. Ifinally figured it out. I now have the servos opporating as designed.

  17. #942

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    lejonguer. Thanks,I finally got the correct program and mytx/rx is working fine. However, the predator weighs alot more than the 1.75 lb recommended fly weight. I had to continue adding lead weight to the nose (about 6 oz ) to get the CG right.
    I then jumped on a bicyle (holdingthe plane at the CG) and took off peddlingto nearly 20 miles an hour before the wings began togenerate enough lift to counter the planes weight.
    So Iput the bike away, found an abandonedparking lot and taxied off, but the darn plane wouldn't stay straightlongenough to gainflight speed. Even with rudder working, I guess Ineed to put in a working front steering gear.Iwas very tempted to just toss the plane (as I have done with a manymotored glider) but having that prop in the back raises a more cautious approach. Iwill work on the nose gear.

  18. #943

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    562
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Wordy - My Predator comes in at 32 ounces - almost 40 ounces with the two batteries I use in it. I am using a 1000mah 3S and a 1300mah 3S (in parallel) to get the cg right, with no added weight. I would say that takeoff speed is less than 10mph. When you were testing using a bike, it was probably not possible for you to assess the angle of attack that the airplane was at, was it?

    Mine has a small outrunner generating around 220 watts with a 8.5x6 or 9x6 counter rotating prop. This gives it an easy takeoff in about 10-15 feet and lets it climb very steeply. the ESC is in the tail with an extension to the batteries right up front. I am using a Spektrum AR7000 receiver, and Hobbycity HXT900 servos. No separate BEC is needed as I am only running 3S.

    My only problem with this plane is that it is so hard to tell what it is doing in the air - it looks freakish from most angles, and I keep thinking its rolling one way when its actually doing the opposite. Painting it yellow would help, but how many Predators are out there intended to be visible? It would probably fly for close to 20 minutes, as it seems to use about 100mah/minute.

    By the way, I did not bother to put on a steerable nosewheel, although that would be helpful. I fly at a club which has a min airport with two blacktop runways, wide enough even for my limited skills to line up and put the Predator down once per flight. NO touch and go practice, though.

    Hope this helps...Chris

  19. #944
    papajeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Wordy,

    My Predator flies just the same way as Chris has explained in his post. Since I fly off grass fields,
    I really have not had the need for any nose wheel steering as the plane just rotates in about 30 -
    50 feet with no problems. I also needed some extra weight in the nose.

  20. #945

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    lejongleur, Thanks for the feedback. I agree that the bicycle method was not truly reliant, but I also manuevered the predator as I peddled to create a best case scenerio. Ibelieve the 20 mph (maybe Ihad a tail-wind; Ifailed to check at the time)was about what it would take to off-set the weight. SO,after reading your and PapaJeff's reply, Igutted out the 500 motor, 50a esc, and replaced it with a 400rimfire, and a 25a esc. That certainly lightened the rear, and hopefully Iwont have to add any weight to the front nose to get correct CG.
    Explaining to me the liftoff and flight characteristics of your predator eases my concern. Ihave heard too many horror stories regarding this model plane.
    Wordy

  21. #946

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Papa Jeff, I decided not to go with a steerable front gear. I think I'll go on grass too. I thank you for the input. Iplan on flying this plane tomorrow...now that I have lightened the load.

  22. #947
    dditch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    594
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Nice detail on the thread PapaJeff!

  23. #948

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    , WI
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Hi there,

    Thanks for the great post. It has been very helpful!

    Jeff


  24. #949

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    I recently picked up this plane, but the carbon wing tube is missing. Can someone give me the specs on the tube so I can order one? I need the diameter and length, and perhaps the wall thickness. Thanks in advance.

  25. #950

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    , IL
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nitromodels PREDATOR RQ-1B

    Hello everyone,
    I am building RQ-1 as my first 'big' R/C aircraft ( I know, I know, not a trainer... I'll deal with it) So I just want to run my list of components past the experts to see if they are good enough:
    I am going to use a Spectrum DX6i controller


Page 38 of 39 FirstFirst ... 2836373839 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.