Community
Search
Notices
Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Mini Ultra Stick Problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2008, 09:26 AM
hobbster126

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mini Ultra Stick Problem

Hi,
I'm new to electrics but have a basic understanding on my set up. I have a pnp mini ultra stick, 450 outrunner, 20 amp esc (e flight), 10x6 prop, and a 2000mah 11.1v lipo by commonsense rc. I use a duratrax lipo charger set up for 2 amps and a great planes cell balancer. I had about 10 sucessful flights before accuring my problem. I went to charge my pack and the charger didn't recognize that it was connected, but it was. The plane was completely dead. I took out the pack to discover it was swollen. I got another new pack and charged it completely. Flew the plane then it cut off after 2 laps. Recharged thinking it ran down mysteriously. Now the motor cuts off after 1/4 throttle, but wont even hold any rpms. It revs up to about 1/4 power then cuts off. All of the servos continue to work fine, but the ESC gets warm very quick. Please help, dont know whats wrong, but I'm thinking its the ESC.

Thanks!
Old 10-28-2008, 09:58 AM
wedgewing

Default RE: Mini Ultra Stick Problem

probably should have at least a 25 or 30 amp ESC and I have a 40 amp in mine. I am not going to bash the PNP (but I am tempted).

The MUS is not a plane you just tool around in the sky with. It wants to be flown fast and furious as I am sure you are finding out. With that you are going to be cranking it around a lot. PNP gets you the bare bones to perform, but I think it doesn't cover the temptation to want to rocket this plane around. doing so if going to fry things

With the PNP you are looking long-term at a motor upgrade (Park 450, Park 480) at some point, and that will also mean an upgrade on your ESC.

I run mine crazy with the Park 480 and 40 AMP ESC and have never had a puffer.