RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-aerobatic-sport-planes-144/)
-   -   E-Flite Mini Pulse XT Owner's Club (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-aerobatic-sport-planes-144/4692202-e-flite-mini-pulse-xt-owners-club.html)

Flyer06 06-28-2007 09:42 PM

RE: E-Flite Mini Pulse XT Owner's Club

I'm a beginner in rc flight and the mini pulse xt is my second plane...my first was the rtf super cub from hobbyzone so i didnt have to worry about control throws...i need help understanding one more thing before i can go and fly...how do i set the recommended control throws?

flyer06

Doc Austin 06-28-2007 10:20 PM

ORIGINAL: swank

Neat trick, but this is still almost 3/4" forward of the CG point that's in the book.
Honestly, I didn't read the part in the manual when it came to CG. I've had so many planes with constant chord, constant thickness wings with fully and semi symetrical airfoils that I know just where I like them to balance. In theory, too, 31-33% is right.

What has happened is that with the 3D craze, rearward CGs have become fashionable. This makes the planes lively when you are dragging them around in or near an alpha, but they become just evil when you get some speed built up. They get very jumpy in the pitch mode, which is something you don't need in a sport plane.

What I find odd is that the Pulse is nowhere near a 3d plane because it doesn't have the control surtface area that's necessary. If E Flite is calling for the CG to be that far back, it's got to be a typo. First, Mike McConville absolutely knows what he is doing, and the big Pulse is balanced right at 31% dead on the money. Why woukld he balance the little pulse differently? Hey, it's a mystery to me.

But, try the balance machine again, but with the plane inverted. That way you can really get it dialed in exact.