Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

What??!! H20 + ELEC

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2003, 07:11 AM
J0HN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What??!! H20 + ELEC

I was reading the RC Universe Review of Accord II,

ELECTRICAL ASSEMBLY

At this time I decided that I would break in the motor to seat the brushes. To do this I attached a single AA cell to the motor terminals with alligator clips and let the motor run submerged in a cup of water for 10 minutes. While this step is not absolutely necessary, it will result in longer motor life and better performance.
Running a elec. motor in water?????
Elec + H20 don't mix, right?? I know it is DC and clean water, but still...??

I am new to RC plane, and the reviewer must know what he is doing. Can anyone enlighten me?

Also, what is the purpose of the diode on the motor lead?

Thanks

John
:stupid:
Old 07-31-2003, 10:32 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Contrary to popular belief, water is a poor conductor of electricity. That's not to say that water won't conduct electricity, because it will. However, electricity will only travel through water if there is no other choice.

In this case, there is a nice bundle of copper wires for the electricity to travel through. A tiny, tiny amount of electricity will still flow through the water, but nearly all of it will go through the motor, because the copper is the path of least resistance.

The diode on the end of the motor is called a Schottky diode, and it helps to "clamp" the voltage generated by the motor when it's freewheeling in the air. All motors turn into generators when the power is removed, and they continue to spin. This electricity would travel back into the ESC otherwise.
Old 08-01-2003, 07:51 PM
J0HN

Thanks for your reply,