Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 07:27 AM
  #1
zep77
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: , NC
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

Tried to get a better TX and wanted to use my old FUTABA 6A and switch the crystal in the crap Dynam NEKO 4 that came with the HAWK SKY. Both are 72 MHZ so I thought I could take the crystal out of the Dynam and put it in the Futaba and it would work, WRONG. Why would it not work ? Dynam crystal is 72.790 going into the Futaba which was 72.810. I left the 72.790crystal in the receiver thinking it would work. know there are about 15 years or so apart in age. What has changed in crystals ? Thanks.
zep77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 08:09 AM
  #2
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,459
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

You learned the hardway that crystals are manufacturer specific for the most part.

Also, changing transmitter crystals is illegal.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:51 AM
  #3
zep77
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: , NC
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

Did not know that it was illegal. I have been out of the hobby for over ten to fifteenyears now. I use to change crystals all the time if a radio malfucntioned or traded. I will have to look into that one. Thanks !
zep77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:59 AM
  #4
zep77
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: , NC
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BarracudaHockey

You learned the hardway that crystals are manufacturer specific for the most part.

Also, changing transmitter crystals is illegal.


"If your transmitter uses a plug-in module then you can purchase additional modules on different frequencies and legally swap modules in the transmitter. " This is what I found. So you can switch on the same unit just not between units?
zep77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 12:12 PM
  #5
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,459
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

A module isn't the crystal, its the entire RF module like plugs into the back for the radio that includes the tuned assembly including the crystal.

Its illegal unless your trained to properly tune the radio to change frequency determining components such as the crystal.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:41 PM
  #6
mrlogdog
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: shelocta, PA
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

I find it utterly ridiculous that it's "illegal" to swap crystals. It works fine if you don't jump too many channels. Curious what law makes this illegal? Just go fly.
mrlogdog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:47 AM
  #7
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,459
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

The FCC makes it illegal, please don't give illegal and potentially dangerous advice.
Thanks
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:33 AM
  #8
mrlogdog
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: shelocta, PA
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

two key parts here, potentially and Fcc (federal) The ama and fcc have been working for years to screw the little guy out of the simple joy of flying model planes. I suppose it's illegal to fly AM radio's too. switch your crystals, do a range check and go fly. Next it will be required to fly nothing but 2.4.
mrlogdog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:08 AM
  #9
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,459
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

I'm not sure what you're talking about.

The AMA had been after the FCC for years and worked to get the 50 channels we have in the 72mhz band. Part of the agreement to get those channels was sharing the band with other users that operate between our channels.

Go and swap transmitter crystals, without the equipment or knowlege to verify that a transmitter is within output specs, and create interference with other users, paying users of that space, and find out what kind of power the feds have.

Flying in the country with nobody else around? Probably no issue other than reduced range. Try it and cause an accident, and an investigation determines that you acted illegally, and you'll probably be on your own.

I'm not really trying to change your mind, just hoping that others don't think you're offering good advice.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:42 AM
  #10
Red Baron Gary
 
Red Baron Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 369
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

It is not illegal to swap receiver crystals. It IS illegal to swap TX crystal UNLESS you have the transmitter checked by a FCC licensed technician to make sure that your radio is on the frequency you have changed to.

As most of us do not have the test equipment to do this checking, most of us either buy a new receiver or just leave well enough alone.

My .02,

Gary
Red Baron Gary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:03 AM
  #11
Rodney
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

BarracudaHockey has given you some good advice above. While you may have things working when you swap transmitter crystals, you may also be generating lots of sidebands that will interfere with other users, that is the reason for the law. As to crystals, they are not a simple item. They can have an X cut, Y cut or a variations as well as quite a variation in capacitance. Now they can be used in different types of oscillators as well and each circuit is set up to work within a definite set of parameters so, when you swap crystals you may also be detuning the circuit which can create spurious side bands.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:35 AM
  #12
Red Baron Gary
 
Red Baron Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 369
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

If you *really* want to swap tx crystals. contact either International Crystal in Oklahoma City, OK or Sentry Crystal in Chicashaw, OK.

Tell them the radio you have and the frequency you want to be on and the can probably make a crystal for you.

Minding however, the fee for this will more than likely be in the $15.00-$20.00 range.

As a ham radio op, both of the above have made custom crystals to suit my needs over the years.

Gary
Red Baron Gary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:01 AM
  #13
Bill G
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Grove City, PA
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

Someone can correct me if wrong, but I had heard that crystal transmitters are also tuned (such as with adjustable pots) for optimization with a specific frequency crystal. My understanding was that if you swapped a crystal with one from more than 1 channel in number from the original crystal, the tuning issues would become significant. The crystal type can also be different, as someone stated before, such as the Hitec Feather and Futaba micro 72MHz receivers using a different crystal type from GWS/Berg.
Bill G is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:10 AM
  #14
Red Baron Gary
 
Red Baron Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 369
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dynam radio crystal switch to Futaba TX failure

Th-re are many types of crystals,referred to as "cuts" that determine the frequency of the actual crystal itself in relationship to the frequency the user wishes to be on.

The object of the pot or trimmer it is called is to allows for small adjustments to the circuit the crystal is in to allow either the transmitter (or the receiver if that is the case) to be precisely tuned.

Hope the above is helpful,

Gary
Red Baron Gary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:47 PM.