Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 12 of 12

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    52
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    Guys,
    Back in the day when I was flying brushed motors we added noise suppression to the leads. I have been out of the hobby for several years and getting back in.
    I know all about the 2.4ghz stuff, but I am not ready to stop using my 72 gear. Is there any advise as to what precautions should be taken when using the brushless systems with the 72mhz radios? BTW, I do have two Spektrum radios in addition to my old stuff. Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Dave

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    high deserts, CA
    Posts
    3,262
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    I run brushless with my 72 gear without an issue. In one install, I had the Rx on top of the ESC and never had a glitch.


    Buzz.

  3. #3
    exeter_acres's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Johns Creek, GA
    Posts
    7,457
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    Assuming you do a good clean install.. perform a range check and you should be fine...

    some folks run Ferrite Rings on the wire from the ESC to the throttle channel to help isolate it, but it isn't required.
    Extreme Flight RC tech support
    IMAC Vice President|IMAC Sequence Committee|IMAC National Judging Instructor|Team Futaba|Extreme Flight R/C|2014 IMAC World Championships Contest Director

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Van, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    Im running the same older radio equipment (old school lol) with a new plane and no issues. Its like recycling, keeping the old stuff out of the junkyard . Cheers

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kearney, NE
    Posts
    140
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    YOU CAN'T do it!

    You'll have to sell me all your old 72mhz stuff... real cheap!

    Nah, just kidding. I run my old Airtronics stuff on 72mhz flying electrics and just love that 2.4 ghz came along and thinned out the herds on 72 mhz!


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Van, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    Im running the old school stuff as well (given the rediculouse cost of it back then) and I have found no issues with the new batteries, brushless motors or speed controllers. Just nice to see its more cash friendly for people to get into the sport. Cheers!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Camden, OH
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    I also have old school radio systems(72mhz) I used to fly and getting back into it myself my question is ... Does one battery power the whole system or is there a seperate battery for the servos so if there is a failure in the motor battery I still have power to fly plane ??

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Van, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz



  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Van, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    The main battery runs the whole system. The speed controller handles the low battery cut off. You will maintain the radio as long as you watch for motor pulsing warning and land asap. I havent experienced that yet as I set a stopwatch at 7 min for my 2200 mh and its in the safe zone. Hope this helps.


  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Camden, OH
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    Thanx Hangtime

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Owen Sound, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    65
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    i always use the ferrite ring supplied with most Esc when running 72 mhz. I even leave them on with 2.4. can't hurt to help kill any noise issues, right.
    Smaller Esc systems, 2,3,4S typically use the built in Bec to run the Rx with 3-4 small servos. I use a separate Bec (higher Amp rating) with its own 2S battery to Rx for larger systems on both 72 and 2.4 systems. Look for ESC with switching Bec in smaller sizes, typically 2-3 A will handle 2-4 micros without issue. If you use digital servos, you may want to consider a separate Bec or a small Rx pack, use 6 volts, not 4.8, especially on 2.4 setups. Fwiw flytreetimes

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Van, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

    Thx Flytreetimes, good info will jot that down.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.