Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

Reply
Old 01-15-2012, 09:06 AM
  #1
RBTHNTR64
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MO
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

Guys,
Back in the day when I was flying brushed motors we added noise suppression to the leads. I have been out of the hobby for several years and getting back in.
I know all about the 2.4ghz stuff, but I am not ready to stop using my 72 gear. Is there any advise as to what precautions should be taken when using the brushless systems with the 72mhz radios? BTW, I do have two Spektrum radios in addition to my old stuff. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Dave
RBTHNTR64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 11:43 AM
  #2
blvdbuzzard
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

I run brushless with my 72 gear without an issue. In one install, I had the Rx on top of the ESC and never had a glitch.


Buzz.
blvdbuzzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 12:34 PM
  #3
exeter_acres
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

Assuming you do a good clean install.. perform a range check and you should be fine...

some folks run Ferrite Rings on the wire from the ESC to the throttle channel to help isolate it, but it isn't required.
exeter_acres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:53 PM
  #4
HANGTIME II
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Van, BC, CANADA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

Im running the same older radio equipment (old school lol) with a new plane and no issues. Its like recycling, keeping the old stuff out of the junkyard . Cheers
HANGTIME II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:26 PM
  #5
DustBen
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kearney, NE
Posts: 140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

YOU CAN'T do it!

You'll have to sell me all your old 72mhz stuff... real cheap!

Nah, just kidding. I run my old Airtronics stuff on 72mhz flying electrics and just love that 2.4 ghz came along and thinned out the herds on 72 mhz!

DustBen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:38 PM
  #6
HANGTIME II
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Van, BC, CANADA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

Im running the old school stuff as well (given the rediculouse cost of it back then) and I have found no issues with the new batteries, brushless motors or speed controllers. Just nice to see its more cash friendly for people to get into the sport. Cheers!
HANGTIME II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 02:27 PM
  #7
Jsbrittain
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Camden, OH
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

I also have old school radio systems(72mhz) I used to fly and getting back into it myself my question is ... Does one battery power the whole system or is there a seperate battery for the servos so if there is a failure in the motor battery I still have power to fly plane ??
Jsbrittain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:48 PM
  #8
HANGTIME II
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Van, BC, CANADA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz


HANGTIME II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:49 PM
  #9
HANGTIME II
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Van, BC, CANADA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

The main battery runs the whole system. The speed controller handles the low battery cut off. You will maintain the radio as long as you watch for motor pulsing warning and land asap. I havent experienced that yet as I set a stopwatch at 7 min for my 2200 mh and its in the safe zone. Hope this helps.

HANGTIME II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:08 PM
  #10
Jsbrittain
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Camden, OH
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

Thanx Hangtime
Jsbrittain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:57 AM
  #11
flytreetimes
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Owen Sound, ON, CANADA
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

i always use the ferrite ring supplied with most Esc when running 72 mhz. I even leave them on with 2.4. can't hurt to help kill any noise issues, right.
Smaller Esc systems, 2,3,4S typically use the built in Bec to run the Rx with 3-4 small servos. I use a separate Bec (higher Amp rating) with its own 2S battery to Rx for larger systems on both 72 and 2.4 systems. Look for ESC with switching Bec in smaller sizes, typically 2-3 A will handle 2-4 micros without issue. If you use digital servos, you may want to consider a separate Bec or a small Rx pack, use 6 volts, not 4.8, especially on 2.4 setups. Fwiw flytreetimes
flytreetimes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 07:35 PM
  #12
HANGTIME II
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Van, BC, CANADA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Question about running brushless w/ 72mhz

Thx Flytreetimes, good info will jot that down.
HANGTIME II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:57 PM.