Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

gonna like electric

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 12:41 PM
iflircaircraft

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default gonna like electric

I've been flying glow for over 30 years. I saw the Carl Goldberg Chipmunk EP ARF on the cover of Model Aviation (November 2012 issue). I got to thinking about a little park flier and convinced myself to get it.
Even the assembly is easier with electric. No fuel tanks to plumb and where to put the fill line and vent line hassles. No worries of oil leaking from the muffler in my car during transport, etc. Motor installation is much easier.
Cleaner looking profile without cutting up the cowl.
I had to charge the receiver battery anyway so I can charge and go without that heavy field box.
I can charge two batteries at hone and if needed I can charge the first battery while the second is in the plane flying. I already have a Lipo balance charger (AC/DC).
I'll still fly my glow planes but I can pack this park flier in the car and after work just stop at a field and get a flight in, pack it back in the trunk and home without the extra time of cleaning the plane and worrying about the fuel jug being in the car all day.
uh oh did get hooked even before getting the plane?

Happy flying:
Tom

Old 01-06-2013, 03:46 PM
blvdbuzzard

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: gonna like electric

Well I had 2 electric planes 5 years ago. I have 2 glow planes today. One is a World Models Super Chipmunk with a 91fs. Ooohhhh how that sounds cruising by. I have a bunch of small foam planes I can toss in the car and fly when and pretty much where I want. I do like the not cleaning up the oil on every plane after a day at the field.

With the low cost of lipo chargers, keep 1 or 2 in the car. Well when they get more in stock.

http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dyc-1004.html

Buzz.
Old 01-07-2013, 08:46 PM
aeajr