Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

What size motor would be appropriate...

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

What size motor would be appropriate...

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2003, 09:36 AM
P-51B
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What size motor would be appropriate...

I am new to the electric side of the hobby, and would like some of your expertise.

Are there any motors suitable for a larger size aircraft? Somthing in the 75" size at around 14 lbs...looking for close to 3-d power?
Old 09-19-2003, 10:06 AM
U2Steve

Default RE: What size motor would be appropriate...

Some of the larger Hacker brushless motors have that kind of power. But then a better question becomes "What size is your checkbook?"
Old 09-19-2003, 10:40 AM
P-51B

I was looking at the "applications chart" on the hacker page, and the closest I saw was the one for the GP PT-19. That's a bit larger, and probably not the same performance envelope. So, in looking at their chart, I wasn't really sure which one would fit the bill...and boy are they pricey!!!!
Old 09-19-2003, 10:43 AM
Jason Beach
My Feedback: (4)

You may want to call the manufacturer you're interested in (Hacker, Astro, etc), they can usually recomend a power system suitable to your needs.
Otherwise, try contacting someone who's already done something like you're looking for.
Try browsing the gas to electric conversion forum. There's some big models there.

Jason
Old 09-19-2003, 07:33 PM
gwright

My 2-meter Funtana, hacker C50 acro motor, 20X8 prop on 30 nimh, 11.6 lbs
http://www.rccraze.com/funtana1.mpg
It's now a little over 2 lbs lighter and has been flown on lithium polymers. Now swinging a 22X12 at just shy of 6,000, so somewhere between a Zenoah G45 and G62 , but on a plane that's just under 10 lbs