Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Is BEC Really Necessary?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2003, 01:05 AM
Ptarmigan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is BEC Really Necessary?

Speed controllers that come with BEC, what is the advantage and disadvantage of having one?
Old 09-22-2003, 04:01 AM
drewjet

Default RE: Is BEC Really Necessary?

the advantage is you don't need a second battery to power the receiver, the disadvantage is, if the BEC fails, or the battery fails you loose all control and crash
Old 09-22-2003, 06:22 PM
Lynx

If the ESC has a BEC and no auto-cutoff feature you can drain the battery to a useless state with the motor and then your entire setup will fail.
Old 09-22-2003, 09:37 PM
Jim Finn
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have been flying electrics for 6 years and I have never had a BEC fail causing a crash. I have built and flown everything from motor gliders to.60 sized warplanes. The nice thing about using a BEC with auto shut off is that your flight day is not limited by the charge in the RX battery like it is in a glo plane or an electric with a seperate battery pack on board and no BEC. This is my opinion..others may disagree.
Old 09-23-2003, 06:35 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

I got two words for ya, Jim: Field charger

On up to 10-cell ships, the built-in BEC is immesurably handy in that you can save a bunch of weight by not having to haul around a receiver battery, and you can save a bunch of headaches checking and charging a dedicated receiver pack.

Don't let 'em make you think that BECs are prone to fail, or that ESC don't come with cut-off circuits. BECs are usually the last things to fail in an ESC; I can't count the number of times I've read about someone smoking an ESC and saying, "but the servos still work."
Old 10-11-2003, 03:20 AM
Grampaw

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Matt,