Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Help with Fuse Selection (challenge!)

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Help with Fuse Selection (challenge!)

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2013, 07:43 AM
Petkov

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with Fuse Selection (challenge!)

Hi,

I know most RC models are designed not to use a fuse and that fuses are generally looked down upon in the RC community but the application I am trying to use a fuse for absolutely requires it.

I am looking for a very forgiving 15 amp blade style slow blow fuse. What I mean by very forgiving is that I am trying to get my average current as much over the 15 amp limit as possible for up to 4 minutes. The higher the average current, (17, 18, 19 amps) the better it will be for me.

I have little to no experience dealing with fuses and any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Additional information:
I plan on running between 300 to 500 watts and 18 to 30 volts through my system. I have not picked out the exact electrical system, that is why I can only provide a range until I can test out a few fuses to know exactly how much current I will be able to produce.

The motors I am currently looking at are the low KV Neu motors and for batteries I am looking at the Kan 400, 700 and Elite 1500 (I am limited to NiHM cells only). I am very willing to accept any other recommendations.

Thanks in advance!

(original thread: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/begi...ject-help.html)

Last edited by Petkov; 11-18-2013 at 05:20 PM.
Old 09-30-2013, 04:20 AM
Gtarling