Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Old Crow 1100mm 11.1v UPGRADE

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Old Crow 1100mm 11.1v UPGRADE

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2014, 06:45 PM
superchargedill

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Old Crow 1100mm 11.1v UPGRADE

Hello, I recently purchased the Durafly Old Crow P-51 1100mm. It is a nice flying plane and has the scale looking 4 bladed prop. I know that might hinder the performance a bit but I would really like to keep it. The recommended battery is an 11.1v. I'm pretty new to electrics so I don't know all of the tricks, do's and don'ts yet.

If I am flying the plane with an 11.1v 20C battery, will going to a higher C rating make the plane faster ?

I have heard some guys talk about going to the next size up battery. What is the best way to find out if a motor and ESC can handle going from a 3S 11.1v to a 4S 14.8v ? Thanks , Dil
Old 05-19-2014, 08:03 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Your questions, and ones you have not yet asked are answered in this free on-line book.

EVERYTHING YOU WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT ELECTRIC POWERED FLIGHT

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_7100376/tm.htm

But some quick answers:

Going to a higher C rated battery might make the plane faster if the battery pack in the plane now is not up to the load that is being placed upon it.

The best way to understand if you can go to a 4S pack would be to read the instructions for the motor and ESC you are using. There is a chance that if you go from 3S to 4S you may have to go to a smaller prop.

Read the book at the link and all will be revealed.
Old 05-29-2014, 03:27 PM
superchargedill

Lots of good information on that link so Thanks for that. However, my brain is having some difficulty trying to grasp all of the info so I'll ask a more specific question: