Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Please tell me my C-130 isn't too heavy!!!

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Please tell me my C-130 isn't too heavy!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2015, 10:32 AM
schafe3624

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please tell me my C-130 isn't too heavy!!!

I have been working on an electric C-130 for 2+ years now. I've been afraid it was too heavy. I am at the point that it is ready to test fly. The calculators on the internet say it will barely fly. I'm hoping to get an expert answer.

Here is what I know:
- Total weight with batteries is 12lb 8oz.
- Wing span is 67"
- Wing area is about 400 sq in
- I am using Turnigy 1460KV outrunner motors. Master Airscrew 3 bladed 8X6 props. (8" is the maximum diameter I can use.) 3 cell lipos. This combination produces 380 - 400 peak watts.

I cannot change prop diameter. Turnigy offers a 1250KV motor rated for 4 cells. 1460 X 11.1 = 16206 RPM. 1250 X 14.8 = 18500 RPM. I can do this by making the nacelles longer. It will be heavier with the larger motors, batteries and ESCs.

I might be able to switch to inrunner motors. They are about 3 times heavier than my current motors but produce way more RPM. I think there is a point where a prop goes so fast it starts producing less thrust per RPM or something like that.

At this point any suggestions are welcome.
Old 05-28-2015, 12:17 PM
radfordc
My Feedback: (14)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

As a comparison, a nice 90 size warbird will fly well at 12 lbs with about 700-800 sq in of wing. You're plane is significantly heavier and will need lots of power and will have to fly very fast.

The rule of thumb for fast electric planes is about 100-150 watts/lb. You will need at least 1200 watts and better with 1500.

Suggestion? Take lots of pictures before the first flight.