Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Very happy with E-Power

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2015, 09:29 AM
iflircaircraft

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Very happy with E-Power

Hello folks:
So, I took up my kit built 60 size super chipmunk today.
I was very impressed with electric flight.
3 successful flights with no issues.
I'm running an E-flite 60 motor with a Phoenix lite 100 amp ESC on a 6s 5000 Mah 30-40C battery.
Firstly the plane needed no trim. I mean absolutely no trim at all.
Secondly the power of the motor was great. Flew most of my flights at just over half throttle. I used full throttle for vertical entry to a couple of stall turns.
The motor and battery got warm but not really any heat to speak of.
I've been flying with glow engines for 25 years or more and I'm very pleased with the performance of electric
I won't be converting all my planes to E-Power but will be using electric in my new ones.

Tom
Old 09-13-2015, 05:41 PM
blvdbuzzard

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Just look at the time and money you save flying "E" power. You do not need to wash the planes down to get rid of all the oil, no glow plugs to burn out, no fuel, fuel filters, fuel pumps to use.

I have a few planes i still fly that are glow. I have a World Models Chipmunk with a Magnum .91 fs in the nose and she is such a great flying plane. I love the sound of the fs as I cruise by at 1/2 throttle. Just putting around.

I have an old 3D plane called Formula 3D. It was made for a 60 2s or 91 fs. I run the Tacon 60, 6s 5000mah battery, 60 amp ESC, APC 18x6 prop. Oh she is fun to just hang on the prop. You will see you are flying more and more E power as the time goes on. Grab a plane, 4 batteries, go to the field with a Tx, plane, batteries, no flight box, fuel, tools, nothing but the Tx and planes.

Buzz.
Old 09-14-2015, 03:09 AM
iflircaircraft