Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Can you use a bec esc, as an opto type?

Reply

Old 04-25-2017, 10:22 AM
  #1  
foodstick
Thread Starter
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,547
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Can you use a bec esc, as an opto type?

Is it possible to use a speed control with a built in bec as an opto type? I want to use a separate receiver pack for safety. Wasn't sure if I could just leave the bec unplugged.
foodstick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 11:32 AM
  #2  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You sure can
You just have to remove the center positive lead from the servo connector that goes to the receiver. Since you may want to use the BEC function again in another model, it's usually best to not cut the positive wire. Fold the positive wire back on itself and cover with heat shrink, that will do the job.
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 06:03 AM
  #3  
foodstick
Thread Starter
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,547
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Pilot Pete.. I have been out of town and didn't get to reply until now.
foodstick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 04:29 PM
  #4  
ron_van_sommeren
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nijmegen/the NetherlandsNetherlands, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 416
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No you can't, your controller has no opto-coupler.

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 11:38 AM
  #5  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Ron,
I believe the OP was asking if you could disable the internal bec to use a receiver battery, as you would with an opto esc, so yes he can. It just won't be opto coupled.
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 11:28 AM
  #6  
ron_van_sommeren
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nijmegen/the NetherlandsNetherlands, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 416
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I really wish HobbyKrap stopped using that opto nonsense when they mean bec-less Pete.

Prettig weekend Ron
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service