Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

The right combination for the job....

Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

The right combination for the job....

Old 01-29-2018, 05:57 AM
Springbok Flyer

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Question The right combination for the job....

I am sure this question has been asked before - but I will appreciate some input. I am thinking about building a RV4 Sport Acrobatic plane which would normally use a 60cc gas engine. The plane will normally weigh around 16kgs (35lbs).

Which motor, esc and battery combination should I be looking at to have a nice positive flying plane and get around 6 minutes of enjoyment?

Thank you for your suggestions.

JanR
Old 02-17-2018, 04:01 PM
sailbode

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm no expert but I keep hearing 100 watts per pound is a general "get you in the ball park". 3500 watts is a big motor that will pull a lot of power from your batteries. I suspect you will be looking at least 10 or 12s (37 or 44.4 volts) propped to pull approx 75 or 95 amps.(note: this is a full throttle situation)