Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Heli Motor In Plane

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2014, 06:02 AM
CougarRules

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heli Motor In Plane

Hi Guys,

I have 75% of a Trex500 Kit that comes with 100% of the electronics including this motor http://www.heliguy.com/trex-500mx-br...DYchoCakDw_wcB Basically someone i knew who was building this heli passed on and as i have no heli experience I'd like to use this motor in an airplane, i also have 3 x 2250mAh 6-Cell / 6S 22.2v 45C Thunder Power Lipo's that are unused but been sitting on a shelf for approx 2 years.

Is it possible to put this all in a plane if so what size or maybe even make some sort of foamy flying wing for it, also what type of prop could i put on this?

Any Ideas would be appreciated, i have been out of the RC flying game for a few years now and this has given me the kick i need to get back into it

Thnx Guys Cougar.
Old 12-29-2014, 12:03 AM
shop970

Default shop970

I need to go look at the link you posted to see the Trex 500. specs.

Regardless of the equipment you have, go see the specs for the motor. Find the watts it produces and the amps it pulls. The Kv rating determines the RPM per volt. This will give you an idea of the Thrust in OZ for the weight of the model. It may be a hi RPM with a low pitch, or be a fast model. As it depends on what kind of flying and the size of the plane. A brush less outrunner is a versatile motor, it just has to be used as intended. Study similar motors and learn about "power" in watts.
Old 12-29-2014, 12:44 AM
shop970