Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

My first modern electric - any "tricks of the trade"?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

My first modern electric - any "tricks of the trade"?

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2003, 03:10 PM
Demon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My first modern electric - any "tricks of the trade"?

I just ordered the Flying Styro P-40N from Hobby Lobby (the complete package plus an extra battery pack).

This will be my second electric model in 27 years of flying R/C. My first attempt at electrics was a Kyosho Zero from Tower Hobbies about 10 years ago. That one didn't work well for me, and it ended up with an OS.15FP under the hood.

I have lots of experience flying small, high performance scale models (I'm a scale combat fanatic), but not a heck of a lot of experience with setting up electrics.

So, I'm open for advice. Anyone care to enlighten me of the potential pitfalls and how to avoid them?

Thanks,
D
Old 09-30-2003, 11:48 PM
stevensaero

Default RE: My first modern electric - any "tricks of the trade"?

Darin,

Welcome back to e-flight. My first e-plane was the Kyosho Zero as well. Up until that point I had only worked with 1/2A models. Discouraged with the lack of performance I tossed it out. Now look at where we have come. I missed the opportunity to buy another zero from MEC... called a couple of months too late. One of these days I'll find another kit (dusty as it may be) and power it accordingly.

Poke around for advice on these forums you won't be dissapointed.

I don't have any first hand experience with the P40 but the numbers posted look about right for thier intended power system. It is a beautiful model.

-Bill
Old 10-02-2003, 11:31 AM
BykrDan

I don't think you'll be disappointed with a Flying Styro kit - I have two, and am very happy with them.