Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Are Electrics good?

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2003, 10:29 AM
Tommy Boy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are Electrics good?

Hi

I am a beginner and can't figure out if I should get a Gas or Electric helicopter.... which is better? and More reliable?.... what about the costs of a gas or electric... are they hard to fly , what are the controls on a remote like??

thank you for ya'lls help--- TOM

[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-sad.gif[/img]
Old 03-15-2003, 11:01 PM
Bill L

TOM, unless you an exceptional person, get a fixed wing first. Starting with a helecopter is like taking a baby out of the crib and putting him on a 15 speed bicycle. There are some "teathered" type of helecopters in electric that you probably could learn to control, but a $1000+ gas powered machine would probably last you 5 seconds. If Y'all are really dead set on a helecopter, go electric.[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-shocked.gif[/img] Let us know what you decide, and how y'all are doing.[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]
Old 03-16-2003, 01:45 PM
Tommy Boy

Hey thanks, though what is a fixed wing. SO your saying for me to get something like a small airplane first....... do the remote controlls for planes go with helicopters too??

Old 03-16-2003, 04:20 PM
Bill L

FIXED WING: A wing that does not move. This is the opposite of the helecopter "wing" which is the large rotor that rotates and gives the lift.