Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

AM Transmitter

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2004, 10:03 PM
Delphi36

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AM Transmitter

I am a novice R/C pilot and have been flying The "Chubby Lady" I got it as a complete outfit. I have had no serious problems. It came with a three channel AM radio. I have just Purchased my next plane which is a Warbird made by Alfa models called a Lavochkin LA-7 it is a Three channel plane as well but a fast flyer. I would like to know the pros and cons of a AM radio vs a FM radio. would it be ok to get another system like the one in my " Chubby Lady" which is a slowflyer / parkflyer or should I step the radio as well?

Mike
Old 04-18-2004, 11:30 PM
NMPhi767

Default RE: AM Transmitter

An AM radio has less range and there is more of the possibility of interference. R/C cars and boats run on am so you have to be careful about who is playing with their toys when you are flying.
Old 04-19-2004, 09:32 AM
jbrundt
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: AM Transmitter

ORIGINAL: NMPhi767

An AM radio has less range and there is more of the possibility of interference. R/C cars and boats run on am so you have to be careful about who is playing with their toys when you are flying.
Huh?

AM radios have just as much range as FM. As for cars and boats they operate on 75mHz or 27mHz whether it's AM or FM. Airplanes use 72mHz. As long as ground/water vehicles are using the proper frequency it matters not if they are AM or FM.

AM radios are more susceptible to stray RF in the air. I fly AM and have for many years with no problems. If you have narrow band equipment you should be fine. I would caution that if you live in a large metro area like New yrok, L.A., Chicago, etc. that you may get some interference. I live near St Louis and where we fly is out in the country so any AM interference problems are nil.