Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

How warm do Li-Po's get

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2004, 01:23 PM
PlanePlanter
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How warm do Li-Po's get

OK So I'm new to the brushless/Li-Po craze so here we go.
How warm do your batteries get? I was testing my system out the other night, and after the ESC shut down I unplugged the battery. It was not "hot" but warmer than I thought it would be. It wasn't to the point that you couldn't hold it just purdy dang warm! I'm guessing all is OK, just want to make sure
Old 05-26-2004, 03:48 PM
Greg Covey

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: How warm do Li-Po's get

That's as warm as they should ever get. Typically, they should not get that warm.

Try to design your Lithium packs so that the continuous current rating of the pack is equal to the motor current draw at max. throttle.

Good luck!
Old 05-27-2004, 06:33 AM
PlanePlanter

Thanks Greg! Still on the learning curve with this stuff.
Old 05-27-2004, 07:58 AM
PlanePlanter

OK so I know this has been asked a million times but here I go. I just want to make sure I understand this.
Set-up
Axi 2208/34 running 10X4.75
Jeti advance 18
Apogee 830 mah 2S1P ( Rated 9A cont. 12A Bursts )

Looking at the motor specs with that prop it should have only been pulling 6.6A ( Per H.L. website ) So why did the pack get that warm?
Do I have to big of a ESC? ( 18A )
Am I getting overly concerned about nothing?

When I say the pack got warm, it was a little warmer than those hand wrmers you use in the winter. Like I said it was not "hot" but right on that border line. Thanks a million in advance for your answers!
Old 05-27-2004, 12:15 PM
d_wheel