Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

HELP Why is speed control kicking out

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

HELP Why is speed control kicking out

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2004, 01:37 AM
propjobbill

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP Why is speed control kicking out

I am new to electric, I have bought 3 speed controls they are rated at 15 amps or more, 2 of them have reset switch on them and the third one doesn't. The one without the reset bottom works fine. The other two speed controls work great as long as I don't give the plane to much throttle, if I open them up full speed they shut down. I can reset the switch and it starts back up but if I give it full power it shuts down. I even went to a 4.8 volt pack same thing.

Can anyone tell me what is wrong?

THANKS Bill
Old 10-20-2004, 06:53 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: HELP Why is speed control kicking out

That's not really enough information to diagnose the problem. What battery, motor, gearbox, and prop are you using on each of these? What brand is each of these ESCs?

An ESC mysteriously "kicking out" generally means one of two things:
1. The battery can't take the Amps, so its voltage is dropping and the low-voltage cutoff is kicking in.
2. The ESC is carrying too much current, and it's overcurrent protection (if so equipped) is kicking in.

Binding in the drive train, too large a prop, or too many cells will cause excessive current to be drawn. Using poor quality cells, damaged cells, or cells that are too small will cause drastic voltage drops.
Old 10-20-2004, 10:52 AM
propjobbill