Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Should i get a new plane?

Old 11-15-2004, 02:25 AM
snowball1288

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should i get a new plane?

Heya everyone... im kinda new to RC planes (i own a electric and nitro car though, and am happy with both)
I have a hitec skyscooter, which a guy at my LHS recommended to me... i think i might stick with that plane and REALLY learn to fly it. Ive flow it about 10 times... i can fly comfortably without crashing... i like how i can just skid into the grass to land, and throw it to take off.

I was reading another post, and someone recommended a GWS Slow stick... i looked at this plane on towerhobbies.com and fell in love with it... now im torn between my nitro car and a new plane lol
I would like a plane with a speed control, which my skyscooter doesnt have, and the slow stick can use one...

Anyways... the plane is 30 bucks, no biggie.

So my questions are:

1) Can i throw this plane to take off? With its aluminum and Foam construction.. can i land it in grass w/o landing gear?
2) Does it have good flying charactoristics for a beginner? I see it doesnt have ailerons... Will the rudder alone work well?
3) Is the recommended radio (link below) worth the money? Are there cheaper ones? lol it costs 5x what the plane costs...
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...1p?&I=LXGAE8**

Thanks so much guys...
Old 11-15-2004, 10:50 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: Should i get a new plane?

Just punch up a search on "Slow Stick." You'll get a good idea of how the plane flies with just a rudder. The plane rarely disappoints, and when it does, it's usually because the owner didn't follow the instructions.

You can land it in grass WITH landing gear. The wheels are like 3" in diameter, and narrow, so they roll through tall grass easily. Throw it, or ROG, either way it takes off fine.