Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

what is wrong-I need some help

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

what is wrong-I need some help

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2005, 10:28 PM
PLANE JIM
My Feedback: (109)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default what is wrong-I need some help

I am new to electrics and having a blast with them-I am having a problem with one airplane-I do not own any voltage meter or amp tester-so I am trying to figure this out as a best guess-pretty scientific -I am a old gas and glow flyer-I have super impress by wattage with a cobalt 27t motor and a 1950 nimh pack with a jetti 30 esc-the motor started a slow surge at high throttle two flying sessions ago and during the flying session I pulled the throttle off to glide down and when I went to throttle back up nothing happen-controls work fine and I figured it must have shut down due to low voltage-charged it backed up later that day between other models that i was flying and it would not run again-took it home removed engine reciever and battery and esc and saw nothing wrong-reassembled and it worked fine on the bench-took it out to flying field today and flew one flight and it flew well-landed and recharged after flying several other of my glow models and on this take off it seem to have a weak battery-I limped it around and on short final the motor stopped and all controls still worked and I deadstick. check for a false peak of the battery and the battery was still nearly fully charged-I took another battery out of my electric playboy and the engine would not power up-what do you think it may be-the brush 27t cobalt motor worn out, the esc-I think the battery is good due to fact the battery is less than 2 months old and when using a seperate battery I was getting the same results-I really do not know how a bad esc behaves-and