Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Electric Connectors?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2005, 09:49 AM
Carroll-RCU
My Feedback: (43)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric Connectors?

I'm new to electric planes and have a Troy Built Monte that I'm assembling. Whe I received the Lipo battery and speed controller, they didn't have any ends on the wiring and there seems to be several types that can be used. Is there a better than another type or even a most popular type that I should use?
Carroll
Old 02-25-2005, 11:34 AM
jooNorway

Default RE: Electric Connectors?

Every one have their favourites here. I go for 2mm GoldConnectors on all the small birds, and 4mm GoldConnectors on the heavy stuff.
When you have made your choise remember you need connectors for batteries, ESC and charger. This means you need more connectors than you think in the first.
Some batteries are delivered with JST-connectors, but I don`t like these because the low-amp they are suited for. But if you are sure you will never draw above 6-7 amp these are cheap.
Both Deans and Multiplex are common used connectors too, and I have never heard anyone being disappointed with either.
Welcome to the electric joy
Old 02-26-2005, 12:18 AM
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)

I've used nothing but Sermos (Anderson Power Poles) for 13 years. Inexpensive, easier to solder, easy to connect and disconnect. Not completely fool-proof, but about as good as you can get. At the Mid-America Fun Fly last year I paid particular attention to which connectors were being used only the ones at the extreme low and high ends of amp draw used anything but Sermos.

There is one advantage to the Deans connector and that is that the FMA series/parallel hook-up boards are keyed to them.
Old 02-26-2005, 09:07 AM
Carroll-RCU
My Feedback: (43)

Thanks Walt and jooNorway,
Walt, where can I buy theses Sermos connectors?
Carroll