Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Building a Slow stick

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2005, 01:30 AM
Armored Saint

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a Slow stick

Hello all, I am new to any type of flying and have just bought a Slow Stick, reading the instructions, I see where I need to tape the horizontal stabilizer to the fuselage, as well as the vertical/rudder. A friend of mine has built his Slow Stick and he insist that I have to use the screws that are provided. In the instructions though the only time they mention screwing these two parts on is if you are doing the two piece tail assembly.

It is my understanding that this two sided tape is pretty tough, and in my opinion the foam would rip before the tape would separate from the fuselage. I just want to get some opinions and see how others have built theirs. Also the fuselage looks bent to me, I was told this is for a reason, that when you build the plane looking from the back you place the tube so that it points down and to the right. Something about engine torque?

Thanks in advance!
Old 02-28-2005, 01:59 AM
Time Pilot

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Building a Slow stick

I don't think GWS bends the aluminum tube. If they did, they'd mention it somewhere to set it up as you mentioned. I think it comes with the price.

I taped and screwed mine on for peace of mind. When it came time to take them off, they were stuck on pretty good and, as you guessed, the foam didn't come off clean. It would seem the screws are unnecessary, although I still reattached my new ones with the screws. They are small, and light and at least in my paranoid mind, the tail is not going to blow off.

I can't imagine anything more disconcerting than to watch parts come off your airplane while it is still in the air. [X(]
Old 02-28-2005, 05:42 AM
jswjimmy