Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

New to RC...need your recommendations

Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

New to RC...need your recommendations

Old 05-07-2005, 12:28 PM
naveed

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to RC...need your recommendations

Hello everyone,
I am new to RC and at present learning to fly my Hobbico superstar EP. The problem is shot flight timings varying between 4 to 6 minutes. first weekend in the field was really disappointing as I required 45 minutes to recharge the battery before next flight meanwhile those with gas powered planes seemed to be well in control and were really having good time. Even the second battery pack I have recently purchased doesnot rotate well.
I have recently gone through a lot of posts suggesting numerious combinations of motor/gears/propellers but one combination figures out very prominent and that includes :-
a. GD 600 gear
b. Endoplasma motor
c. 50 amp esc
d. Bigger propeller and wheels
e. Lipo battery
since I am on a budget I would like to to retain max possible stock items and upgrade on minimum essentials like motor,gear and propeller while keeping the stock esc and battery.Besides I would like to know how different ratios for gear like 3:1 etc and size/pitch of propeller effect flight.
As I am outside US therefore please give me sold recommendations on best combination along with the site to get them from .I will get the items through a friend who will be visiting me shortly.
Thanks
Old 05-10-2005, 09:32 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: New to RC...need your recommendations