Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

First Electric, suggestions appreciated.

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

First Electric, suggestions appreciated.

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2002, 07:57 PM
Ralph78

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Electric, suggestions appreciated.

I am considering my first electric R/C project. It will be a S.A.M. R/C electric texaco plane. 400 motor, 800 ma. battery pack. I plan on using a 400-500 inch Playboy Sr. or Lanzo Bomber. Any suggestions as to an inexpensive motor, controller combination? I have NO experience with electric flight, and don't even know where to start, or what I will need. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Ralph78
[email protected]
Old 01-06-2002, 08:52 PM
Volture
My Feedback: (1)

Default First Electric

Ralph-

A speed 400, even geared, is very probably too weak for a Sr. playboy or similar. I like to limit speed 400 planes to 24 oz. max plane weight. I've seen Sr. Playboy's, Lanzo's and similar old-timers fly quite nicely on a speed 600 geared 3:1 swinging a 12 to 14 inch prop on 7 or 8 cells. This is a pretty inexpensive setup. For more power, a Kyosho Magnetic Mayhem Reverse car motor works well without busting the budget.

I suggest you also post your query on www.rcgroups.com -- it's primarily electric fliers, and you're sure to get many good replies.

Good Luck!

- Craig Logan
Old 01-07-2002, 01:52 AM
Ralph78

Default Re: First Electric

Craig,