Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

trimmng out & slowing down a Slow Stick

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

trimmng out & slowing down a Slow Stick

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2005, 02:56 PM
Todd_J
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default trimmng out & slowing down a Slow Stick

Hi All,

I bought a Slow Stick with a 400 motor (didn't know to look for a difference between it and the 300 version) and a 900mAh battery back, mini servos, and a standard sized JR RC770 RX.

Anyways I'm having a few problems trimming it out. I have to give it 30% forwardstick to keep her from having too much AOA during power on at 75% throttle. But when I power it off, I have to give it full backstick for it to glide (if it doesn't start porposing first). I'm a newbie so I asked a buddy who has flown his SS for a while (he has the 300 version and mini everything, so his overall plane is alot lighter), and he thinks I should move my wing back from the 95mm value twoard the 105mm mark. I think I need to move it forward to about 90mm. My buddy says that getting the CG exactly right is critical before trying to get the trims set. How would you proceed? Move it back or forward. I think I'd rather be nose heavy than tail heavy?

My other question is in slowing her down. How can I go about slowing down my SS airspeed? I watch my buddies, and his almost floats in for landings. True his is the 300 and therefore lighter and doesn't build-up or need as much airspeed. If I put a smaller prop on it would that slow it down? What about a tri-prop? And how would I know if I went too far in slowing it down. My main reason for slowing it down is to increase flight duration times, but i'd also like to have softer landings. Would going to EXPO on my TX be a possible option?