Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Component Advice for a Tiger Moth 400

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Component Advice for a Tiger Moth 400

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2005, 06:33 PM
diviatix

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Component Advice for a Tiger Moth 400

Picked up my 3rd plane 2day - GWS Tiger Moth 400 - cause I liked Greg Covey's [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/magazine/article_display.cfm?article_id=345]review [/link] and it has a float option. WAY COOL.

Since my other to planes are RTF (Aerobird + Aerobird Xtreme) I have little experience with full-blown gear.

From the review I have been able to determine that a 3-cell Kokam 1500mAh Lithium pack seems to be a good thing... What do you folks advise for radio and such? BTW, I am not particularly flush so price is pretty important. Any advice or tips on outfitting my firt 4 ch will be sincerely appreciated.

Andrew.
-------------------------------
No problem can withstand the assault of sustained thinking.
--Voltaire
Old 07-22-2005, 06:53 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: Component Advice for a Tiger Moth 400

From a pure price perspective, you can't beat the GWS "Dream Starter" radio equipment. It's a little toyish as far as fit, finish and feel go, but it's functional, and as I said, the price can't be beat. I would not doubt but GWS has a radio combo package designed specifically for the TM400.

Basically, you'll need the transmitter, a receiver, and three micro servos like the GWS Naro or Hitec HS55. For the stock motor, an ESC like the GWS ICS400 or ECS400.

Do you plan on using a brushless setup? If you go with the brushed can setup, a 3S LiPoly is a motor-eater. The stock 400 motor can't handle the voltage for long. Stick with a 2S LiPoly, same size. That'll keep the costs down too.