Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Battery or ESC problem?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2005, 07:47 PM
rjhike

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery or ESC problem?

I am new to electric powered airplanes. (I have flown glow/gas for years).
I bought the Great Planes Flatout Cap 580. I also bought the extra things that were needed and recommended in the instructions. So I bought an ElectriFly 640mah 3 cell LiPo battery, the C-10 ESC, and a Triton charger. I thought since these products were recommended they would work without problems.

The problem is when I move the throttle even one click above half the motor quits and the servos also do not respond. At 1/4 throttle everything works.

Using the Triton charger instructions, I charged the battery at 0.2A and at 11.1 V.

Is the problem with the battery, charger, motor, or ESC?

What should I do or have done?

I did buy the Rimfire motor hoping that works, but haven't tried it yet because I am waiting for a Castle ESC.

Thanks for your help.
Old 11-01-2005, 08:04 PM
exeter_acres
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Battery or ESC problem?

which motor are you using now? which prop?
Old 11-01-2005, 08:36 PM
mandtra
My Feedback: (29)

Sounds like to me the ESC is cutting off due to either your battery being not able to supply enough amps (power) or your drawing too many amps and that's shutting down the ESC
Old 11-01-2005, 08:43 PM
rjhike

I was using the motor that came with the plane. Not sure of the name. The prop is a 10x3 SF.
It had little tabs on the ends of the prop and I have never seen a prop with tabs on the ends so I sanded them off.

I will be using a Rimfire motor when I get another ESC.
Old 11-01-2005, 08:46 PM
rjhike

"Sounds like to me the ESC is cutting off due to either your battery being not able to supply enough amps (power) or your drawing too many amps and that's shutting down the ESC"