Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

FLIGHT CONTROLS

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2005, 05:24 PM
wildjaych

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FLIGHT CONTROLS

Im new to flying and am hearing different things on what sticks control what on the plane. Is there a standard?? or does it change from plane to plane or radio to radio?? or is it personal preference??? I have a slow stick now and will up grade to a bigger better badder plane one day and I dont want to have to re-learn the controls I am using now.

I did a search but came up with nothing.

Can someone help me out???
Old 11-22-2005, 06:22 PM
Mayday!Mayday!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: FLIGHT CONTROLS

For the most part here in the U.S. the left stick is your throttle and/or rudder the right stick is your elevator and aileron. Depending on how many channels it has depends on what each stick does. Example a 3 channel v-tail = left stick is throttle right stick is elevator and aileron. For a 2 channel left is throttle right is aileron. You can buy a computer radio and change these around to suit you. If I'm not mistaken, I think in Australia the throttle is on the right stick. Could be wrong. Hope this helped
Old 11-29-2005, 08:45 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: FLIGHT CONTROLS

What Goes on Which Stick?
by Ed Anderson
aeajr on the forums

If you are flying an RTF electric plane, your radio and servos are already set-up for you. However if you are setting up an ARF or finishing a kit, you will be installing your own radio equipment. So, which stuff goes on which stick, and why?

We usually talk about what surface is controlled by what stick. However,
that is not really the right way to look at it.

For a two stick radio, used in mode two format, the standard format in North
America, pitch and roll are on the right stick with roll ALWAYS being your