Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Help with newbie prop shaft question

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Help with newbie prop shaft question

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2006, 08:32 AM
skypix
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with newbie prop shaft question

HI, thanks for checking my post. I'm fairly new to electrics (although not to buying kits, I've been going nuts lately) and I built a Great Planes Slinger, only the inside shaft diameter of the prop is about 2.5 times what it should be, too big for the shaft I mean. I called Tower HObbies and talked with a very friendly "tech" rep for about 10 minutes, he said they'd send me the correct ones. I had the impression he didn't really understand what I was talking about.

The props with little rubber spinners came yesterday, they're exactly the same as came with the kit.

I'm guessing Great Planes expects ARF kit builders to know that the Slinger needs to have a prop shaft adapter bought, but nowhere in the instructions or on the box or website or wherever is it mentioned...can anybody help? It's a speed 400 motor, who do I have to frack [:@] (yes, I'm a Battlestar Galactica fan) to get the prop to fit?

thanks
JIm
Old 01-18-2006, 10:36 AM
Flypaper 2

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Help with newbie prop shaft question

Jim :
The prop slides onto the spinner, then the spinner presses onto the motor shaft. Make sure the writing on the spinner goes to the back of the prop if it's a Gunther.
Old 01-18-2006, 10:39 AM
kuga220

http://www.rcuniverse.com/magazine/a...ticle_id=365#2
mentions:"Graupner 6053.31 prop adapter for 3.2mm shaft".
Old 01-18-2006, 11:41 AM
skypix