Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

New with electrics

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2002, 05:22 PM
MTT
My Feedback: (8)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New with electrics

Hi guys,
I am a total newbie when it comes to electrics, although I have been flying gliders off and on for 15 years on the winch or on the slope.
I am currently restoring my old Multiplex Alpina (160" sailplane), and am thinking of installing an electric powerplant, in order to be independent of the winch or hi-start( no slopes around here).
Can any of you give me recommendations for a powerplant ?
Type of motor, speed controller, number of cells, prop, etc.
Flying weight of the Alpina (without electric powerplant) is 8-9 lbs.
What I am looking for is a powerplant/battery combination which would allow me to handlaunch the airplane, and the get to a decent altitude to hunt for thermals.
Last but not least, of course I don't want to break the bank with this.

Thanks for any info,

Michael
Old 02-04-2002, 07:16 PM
dryflyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello Michael,
A friend of mine has an Aveox(www.aveox.com) F27 brushless motor/w 3.7:1 planetary gear reduction in a 6 meter Nimbus 4D. Not sure what ESC/prop he uses though. He flies it on 24 cells. Climbs like a homesick angel! I have an F12 in my 112" Multiplex Kranich. I Have had good luck with Aveox. It's hard not to spend a lot of money when electrifying something large. I would say you would spend in the six to eight hundred dollar range depending on how many battery packs you buy. After outfitting my Kranich, I could only afford one 10 cell 2400mah pack at $100.00ea.! But, please don't let any of this discourage you from converting your Alpina. The joy of being totally free of winches and slopes is cool! I'm usually in the air for fifteen minutes before the other guys even have the winch set up! Keep us posted on your project!