Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Reducing Power Consuption

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2003, 10:54 AM
AuzzieRCFlyer-RCU

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reducing Power Consuption

I'm new to R/C but an electronics engineer by trade. As I understand it the ESC provides throttle control & the power supply for the receiver (am I right)?!

If this is the case can someone tell me if (for example) for GWS ESC-100 uses a switching regulator for the receiver supply?

If not then one would hazard a guess it's a simple linear regulator, which is ineffiecient & simply wastes (valuable) energy!

I have been modifying small R/C cars for a while by adding extra batteries inside them, this not only increases the overall voltage going to the control pcb but also the voltage used to control the simple steering mech'.

One way around this is to use a 'trick' switching regulator. This is a VERY small device (the size of small postage stamp) & VERY light. It only requires 2 or 3 filter caps (again VERY light & small) & has just 3 pins! In, Ground & Output!

Some of you may know of the common garden LM7805 5V regulator, yes, this is a linear regulator. However this 'trick' device I use is the same package & pin outs but instead uses a little switcher with upwards of 89% efficiency!

This 'trick' device could be wired straight to the battery (its' max input range is around 40v!) The version I use has a rating of 2 amps which should be more than enough to power the receiver!

If anyone has any comments or is interested in the device let me know! :idea:
Old 01-16-2003, 03:43 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)