Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

A123 charges, motors and ESC?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

A123 charges, motors and ESC?

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2007, 04:03 PM
Stuntguy13

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default A123 charges, motors and ESC?

All,

I am just getting started in e power and have been reading about the A123 cells and they seem to have many advantages and few drawbacks. To that end I would like some advice on the setup that will match up with them. I am converting a 3 1/2 lb ship with about 600 in2 of wing. I want to be able to fly at about 55mph for 6 mins. I would like to be able to field charge the pack in 15-20mins between flights (ideally just plug into the battery pack in the ship and charge).

Question: the motor I have seen for this application is a AXI 2826-10, will this work with the A123's if so what voltage pack do I build, what amps should I plan on running. I have also see the CC ESC used - what model will match up with this setup and what timer? For the charger what charger/balancer works best with the A123's? Last, is there a motor calc program that handles the A123 battery option?

Thanks, Dennis
Old 12-16-2007, 05:33 PM
Red Scholefield
Banned
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A123 charges, motors and ESC?

You should have a 4S A123 pack (just a bit more voltage than a 3S LiPo). Your 2826-10 will need a 40 amp controller as it will draw in the 30+ amp range - wide open throttle. Here we have a slight problem if you want 6 minutes. The most you can draw for this duration is about 16-18 amps. Not unreasonable if you don't fly full throttle the whole flight.