Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Battery Connectors

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2008, 04:07 AM
kusok

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery Connectors

Hello,

I am new to this and would like to inquire what type of connectors do you use to quickly connect the battery to the heli itself? I have been trying to find something light yet powerful for some time, but I just can't seem to find the right connectors.
Old 08-02-2008, 02:36 PM
punkindrublik

Default RE: Battery Connectors

Can't go wrong with Deans connectors. Mini Deans if you are staying under 15 amps or so.

There's a lot of Deans knockoffs out there that work well, but none of them are quite as easy to use as the originals.

Original -
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXKX39&P=7
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXDKA2&P=7

Knock offs -
http://www.ritehobby.com/Gold-plated...Battery-side-2
http://www.ritehobby.com/Gold-Plated...-Male-ESC-side
http://www.ritehobby.com/Micro-T-Plug-Pair

Hope that was helpful...

Brian
Old 08-02-2008, 07:08 PM
bdavison
My Feedback: (1)

Id also recommend the Deans for a helicopter

You need something with a positive secure connection, and the deans are good for this.

I saw a really nice expensive Trex600 go in from 300ft because the pilot used a JST connector on the rx battery. Use good connectors.
Old 08-02-2008, 09:47 PM
MrMulligan
My Feedback: (314)

I'm partial to Sermos or Anderson Powerpole connectors. I'm terrible at soldering, especially with the Deans plugs. They usually end up out of line. I have the crimper for the Powerpoles and there's nothing like sitting down with 10 connectors to put on and being done in less than half an hour. I get my supplies including the crimper at West Mountain Radio. There are good people there.
Old 08-14-2008, 02:04 PM
AWG