Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

New to Electric Flight and Li-Po's

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

New to Electric Flight and Li-Po's

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2008, 11:35 AM
steelcityuk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Electric Flight and Li-Po's

Hi,

As the subject suggests I'm new to this and I have a few questions that I haven't found the answers to so if members could give some answers I'd be grateful.

1) It seems that ESCs are programable. Do members bother adjusting what they can or just use them as is? Are any of the options worth setting?

2) I'm building a Radical Quick Wing, are breaking props on landing a problem on these kind of models? If so is there any way to stop it without using a folding prop?

3) I have an Duratrax Intellipeak ICE charger, will this be OK for charging Li-Po's? Should I buy a balancer to connect between the ICE and the Li-Po's?

Thanks.

Steve.
Old 08-31-2008, 12:01 PM
ditchdigger01

Default RE: New to Electric Flight and Li-Po's

hey Steve,
1. I've never bothered to program my esc's although that being said, the brake function is useful for aircraft that will belly land, ie if the prop can turn it might not break
2.I don't know that aircraft but you can always fly cheap props and just replace them. I always like to have a weak link thats easy and cheap to replace
3.blancers are great, lipos are not cheap, if you can make them last longer, do it. just try to stick to one brand of battery so you don't end up w/ a pile of balance connectors
Old 08-31-2008, 12:05 PM
ron_van_sommeren

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

ORIGINAL: steelcityuk

Hi,

As the subject suggests I'm new to this ...