Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

I need help choosing a lipo for my Yak 55 25e.

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

I need help choosing a lipo for my Yak 55 25e.

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2009, 12:18 PM
I_<3_W@rB1RdS

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need help choosing a lipo for my Yak 55 25e.

Hello all,
I need help choosing a lipo for my Yak 55 25e. I have been flying RC planes for about 2 yrs now and I am a new member here at RC UNIVERSE. I started out buying RTF foamies and quickly got tired of the poor quality and inability to handle the wind. I have now decided to only buy balsa ARF planes and would also like to get into building kits from scratch.
Problem:
I purchased Hyperion's Yak-55, 47" W.S. 25e w/ power set. It is a beautiful plane that flies like a dream but, I want to get just a little more vertical performance and flying time out of it.
I have been buying the cheaper lipos on ebay for my planes and the flying time has been a little short.
*Do the more expensive name brand lipos last longer and have a flatter power curve?
*Also, can anyone tell me what size and brand lipo i should buy for the best performance and flight time?
I am currently using a 3s1p 2450mAh 30c lipo w/ Titan 50A BEC and only getting 7min of flying time. (I paid $30.00 for it on ebay ships from china) Should I upgrade to a 4s lipo? or stay with the 3s and increase the mAh's?

Thanks for your help,

I_<3_W@rB1RdS

"Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear to be bright until you hear them speak."
Old 05-14-2009, 08:33 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: I need help choosing a lipo for my Yak 55 25e.