Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

4 motor electric wiring

Old 06-30-2009, 09:56 PM
eal7575

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 motor electric wiring

Hello: I am wiring a 4 engine Super Constellation. Using AXI 5330`s, with 110 amp ESC`s, and 4, 37volt, 10 cell packs. Which would be best? Wire , Battery, ESC, to each individual motor, or wire total batterys in parallel, then wire the 4 ESC`s to that source.
Thanks, Buck
[email protected]
Old 06-30-2009, 10:02 PM
bobferguson

Default RE: 4 motor electric wiring

I would think you would want to parallel the packs so the four motor always see the same voltage. But I am no expert.

ORIGINAL: eal7575

Hello: I am wiring a 4 engine Super Constellation. Using AXI 5330`s, with 110 amp ESC`s, and 4, 37volt, 10 cell packs. Which would be best? Wire , Battery, ESC, to each individual motor, or wire total batterys in parallel, then wire the 4 ESC`s to that source.
Thanks, Buck
[email protected]
Old 06-30-2009, 10:14 PM
tIANci

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

To get a more power consistent performance from the motors its ideal to use them in parallel. However, from what you tell me by using 4 pieces of 5330s it is a huge plane, of which will mean you need a lot of wiring for the battery to the ESC in the event that you use them in parallel. There is a lot of talk about long battery supply wires, best not over 12" because it will kill the ESC. Try the guys in RC Groups, the EP giant scale thread. You got some guys there who are really nuts about EP.
Old 07-01-2009, 10:09 AM
ron_van_sommeren

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

Extend motor wires, do not extend battery wires, will cost you your controllers. If you cannot but extend the battery wires, you have to install extra ESC input capacitors. ESC manufacturer statements, workarounds, rules of thumb, manuals:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...highlight=kill