Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

bec vs ubec question

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2010, 04:34 AM
pritchett4
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bec vs ubec question

i was out flying my tower hobbies vista ep which i had just converted to brushless....i am also new to electric flight in general lol

heres the problem...took off and flew around for a little bit, landed, went to take off again full power, about a 70 degree climb and lost all power from the esc because the lipo reached its limit, and my plane went into a vertical dive from about 50 feet...

so here is the question lol

if i run a ubec at the battery connection and disabled the on-board bec...would the ubec still cut out after the bec loses power? does the ubec have a low limit shut off? or is that on a per ubec basis?
Old 03-06-2010, 12:47 PM
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)

Default RE: bec vs ubec question

First off, you shouldn't have lost all power from the ESC just because you hit the LVC (low voltage cut-off). Are you sure the plane didn't just stall too low to recover? Did you check your controls afterward?

The LVC applies to the speed control side of your ESC which powers the motor, not the BEC which powers the servos.

If you lost all power to the rx something is very wrong.
Walt
Old 03-06-2010, 05:45 PM
cyclops2

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Are you positive you did NOT run out of battery power for the engine while doing a second flight ? Did / do all the servos still work ? Did the RC stuff work at home during a check out ? after a recharge. What still works ?
I go for a tired battery or a connection coming apart between motor & ESC.
Stalls are stalls no mater what causes them.
Old 03-08-2010, 07:01 AM
pritchett4
My Feedback: (1)

havent had the chance to test anything yet...broke the plane in half haha