Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Lipo help

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2010, 10:18 AM
orangehat44
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lipo help

Ok Im pretty new to the electric stuff. Started flying glow last year and been pretty comfortable with the glow and bigger size planes. I got a GP Yak 55 flight flex for around the park and learning some 3d stuff.

I got the recommended ESC: electric fly one think its 25 amps. and a 1300mah 3s electric fly battery.

I know lipos dont like to be discharged past like 30-40 percent. So I have like a 5 min timer set on my tx to get a handle on the battery. Friday was only my 2nd flight with it and I forgot the timer till after I started. I probably flew a 7 ish min.

when I charged that battery it took 1200 something mah. which is most of the battery obviously. Why didnt it cut off from the esc? Is there away to set that up to ensure I dont do this again. I know its bad for the battery but am I okay for having made this mistake once? Thanks guys

lol this is why I like glow lol you know when you run dry and dont hurt anything (unless you crash dead stick) but I usually dont have the nerves to fly for the 15 straight min it takes to kill the tank. so im use to landing after 10-12 min filling up and taking off. hard habbit to break for the electrics.
Old 03-18-2010, 11:19 AM
-pkh-
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Lipo help

If you can program your low voltage cutoff (LVC) value, then raising it will cause it to kick in sooner. However, most ESCs I've seen don't have much fine tuning for the LVC value, just 1S, 2S, 3S, etc. cell count settings.

If your LVC is set at 9V, they you should be able to pull most, if not all of the 1300mAh charge out of the 3S pack before it kicks in. Since the voltage under load is lower than with no load, it will kick in sooner with higher current draw.