RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric General Discussion (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-general-discussion-106/)
-   -   Can't tighten Prop Nut without spinner backplate moving (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-general-discussion-106/11427699-cant-tighten-prop-nut-without-spinner-backplate-moving.html)

oldtyme 03-01-2013 12:16 AM

Can't tighten Prop Nut without spinner backplate moving

Ok, I'm new to electric stuff and I'm trying to mount a prop with a spinner. Onto the propshaft I mount the spinner backplate the prop and then the nut. When I go to tighten the nut the spinner backplate turns away from the prop and the spinner will then not fit the pegs because they have moved. I have not had this problem on glow engines so will someone, anyone please enlighten me?

Thanks,
Andy

hugger-4641 03-01-2013 06:34 AM

RE: Can't tighten Prop Nut without spinner backplate moving

I'm surprised you haven't had this problem on glow engines, cause I have. You will have to hold on to the spacer between the backplate and the engine until the prop bites into the backplate enough to keep from moving. I use a small pair of channel lock pliers to hold the spacer while I tighten the nut.

Walt Thyng 03-01-2013 07:16 AM

Just cut a disk of sandpaper and glue it to the trust washer. If necessary glue one to the back of the prop also.
Walt

RCPAUL 03-01-2013 08:21 AM

Your post does not say your putting a prop washer between the nut and the prop!

oldtyme 03-01-2013 02:51 PM

ORIGINAL: RCPAUL

Your post does not say your putting a prop washer between the nut and the prop!
Yes, there is a prop washer between the prop and the nut.

flyinwalenda 03-01-2013 04:07 PM