RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric General Discussion (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-general-discussion-106/)
-   -   "Open" design (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-general-discussion-106/402976-open-design.html)

a088008 12-06-2002 09:30 PM

"Open" design

I'm an r/c aircraft designer and builder.

I would be very interested to know if anyone has an interest in participating in the designing and building of an electric plane.
I'm interested in a plane for "general" consumption and novice to moderate building skill (nothing too fancy).

A restriction I would like to propose is that anyone should be able to build the plane from balsa and ply, so that all of the particilpants can easily build the final design. Then we can all show off our individual creations and swop stories and ideas on how to improve the design.

The other restriction I would like to propose is that the plane be big enought to accomodate standard size radio equipement, but you can fly the plane with smaller equipement if you wish.

What do you think? Interested? If you are, let's use this forum thread to get started with some suggestions on plane characteristics. We'll get to design tools later.

P.S. The "Open" design means that participation should be open to anyone and that the plans must always be free. If a kit manufacturer wishes to produce the plane they are welcome to, but the FULL plans must always be included in the kit and not be included in the price of the kit. Also, all participants must always be mentioned on the plans.

-Q.

cabanestrut2002 12-08-2002 12:19 AM

"Open" design

For a start, what type of aircraft are we talking about; aerobatic,power glider, trainer etc?

a088008 12-08-2002 07:30 AM

Anything is a possibility

I would like to hear any ideas. Anything goes.
Maybe we could come to some agreement on something that all of the participants (designers) are interested in.