Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight Talk about this fast growing niche in rc. Micro radios, micro electric or co2 powered planes, heli's both indoors and out.

Anything like the Spectrum "AR6400 brick" for use with Futaba radios?

Reply
Old 11-14-2014, 12:09 PM
  #1
dksnyder
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: s. windsor, CT
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Anything like the Spectrum "AR6400 brick" for use with Futaba radios?

I want to build a micro F3P aerobatic Pattern plane for indoor flying.
I see many good choices from many different manufacturers that utilize the Spectrum AR6400 brick.
That is a great unit.... Rx and ESC and 2 servos all packaged in an ultra lite unit!!
BUT.... I use Futaba radios!!
Isn't there an equivalent "package" available that will accommodate Futaba??
dksnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 02:56 PM
  #2
Steve Percifield
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,437
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The answer is no, but to use my Futaba transmitters I have gone to this

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXDZRS&P=ML

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBPYD&P=7

I also have a spectrum module for my 9Z that will run the AR6400 brick. Any Futaba module transmitter can be outfitted with a spectrum module.

Last edited by Steve Percifield; 11-25-2014 at 02:45 PM.
Steve Percifield is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 11:54 AM
  #3
buzzard bait
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 3,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I got stuck with the same problem. Decided I'd like to try indoor flying this winter, but I fly with a Futaba 7C. Sounds like Steve, above, found a good solution. For me, I watched online ads till a Spektrum DX6i transmitter came up used in good condition at a good price. Now that's my dedicated indoor tx and I'll use the Futaba again next year outdoors. I tried buying a RTF foamie once, but they break, and you're left with a lousy little tx.

Jim
buzzard bait is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 12:33 PM
  #4
buzzard bait
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 3,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Update: My DX6i wouldn't allow motors to run; throttle pot was bad. Seller had installed back light kit for screen, so Horizon wouldn't touch it. I fixed it by watching a youtube video on cleaning a pot on the DX6i. A common problem, apparently. I wouldn't go that route again, I'd get a conversion module or a DX6e.
buzzard bait is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:50 AM.