Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight Talk about this fast growing niche in rc. Micro radios, micro electric or co2 powered planes, heli's both indoors and out.

Air Hogs Aero Ace!

Reply
Old 08-18-2006, 02:53 PM
  #2476
MegaByte-2
 
MegaByte-2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Area 51, OH
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

jonny,

The original outputs are transistors and their power rating is just slightly above an good running AA. Thats why stalling the prop or grass around the shaft kills them so easily.
N 20's will fry the stock transistors BV4-BV5 ......not a fire hazard.
The IRLML6401's can handle 4.3A each. The stock AA motor draws 370ma.
Its quite safe to run the N 20's if you have upgraded the Rx.

I've seen to many lipo discussions get out of hand. Common sense rules in 99.9% of the cases. Anything that makes it get hot or swell is bad. I've ran 3.5ohm motors on the standard AA lipo. It got just a touch warm, but no problems.

On the heli posted earlier.....the Winner .....the 2-3 min flght wasn't because of the lipo. Its the over heating of the motors and allowing them to cool. The BladeRunner, DFK and most of the clones had the same problems due to cheap motors. Comm arm wipers and not carbon brushes.


Tony
ARS Software & Innovative Solutions
http://www.falcon1.net/~ars/rcmodels.html
MegaByte-2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 04:51 PM
  #2477
novielo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: st-jerome, QC, CANADA
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

hi everyone, here's the jet with the battery on top.
it does fly but not very well, the cg is at the back of the prop openning. with full throttle it hardly climbs and and when turning it just looses altitude and crashes. i've added a foam plate piece at the rear (between the 2 stabs) without any results...

neurotex, did the motors you sent me, where the actual one on this plane? it seems they don't have enaught "pep". it's flying speed is about the same, if not slower, then the aa bipe...

neurotex, what mod where you talking about? that you made/report in another thread?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88765.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	81.8 KB
ID:	509250   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up46780.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	509251   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xd81148.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	75.1 KB
ID:	509252  
novielo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 06:51 PM
  #2478
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: novielo

hi everyone, here's the jet with the battery on top.
it does fly but not very well, the cg is at the back of the prop openning. with full throttle it hardly climbs and and when turning it just looses altitude and crashes. i've added a foam plate piece at the rear (between the 2 stabs) without any results...

neurotex, did the motors you sent me, where the actual one on this plane? it seems they don't have enaught "pep". it's flying speed is about the same, if not slower, then the aa bipe...

neurotex, what mod where you talking about? that you made/report in another thread?
jeez-o-pete nov, what did you do, fill in the back? That won't help it none.
I found it nothing but dead weight.

The motors I sent you were 05 stock bipe motors direct from AAMods.com.
They still have the gray ribbed motor casings still on them. They're not the
original jet motors. The jet motors are in black casings- flying my Strato wing.
If you go back on this thread I made that clear, sorry if you misunderstood.
I listed the jet up for grabs several posts after I posted the bipe motors.
The bipe motors are not that much different than the jet motors but with that
heavier lipo it might be causing problems.
The jet flew sluggish out of the box that's why I chopped the back off, to get
rid of about 2 grams of dead weight.
For some reason you've got the CG moved back an inch from where I had it also.

I thought you stated you had a pair of N20's with Defender props. Did you put
those props on the AA bipe motors?
The battery might burn up those bipe motors. Bet they're screaming.

Click "Electric Indoor & Micro Flight" at the bottom and then click "New Spinmaster jet"
and that's the thread it's on.




Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 07:03 PM
  #2479
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

On this thread, page 81 post #2007, shows the jet with the N20's
and the Defender props installed. Post #2023, shows a close up
of the N20.

If you want to fly it, and it will fly good, remove the back piece you
installed, leave the bipe motors in it and replace that lipo with one
from the original AA bipe or jet.
AAMods has em for about $8. You should be all set.

Or get a pair of N20's with the larger props and that will solve your
power problems with the heavier lipo.
Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 08:10 PM
  #2480
FERNDALE AIR FORCE
 
FERNDALE AIR FORCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: lost coast, CA
Posts: 7,007
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

Is the helix indoor only?
FERNDALE AIR FORCE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 09:25 PM
  #2481
novielo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: st-jerome, QC, CANADA
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

thanks neurotex, i just wanted it to fly the piece at the back was just to see if it would something, obviously not. the aa motors also where just to make it fly, i don't have much spare time so i wanted to fly it while moding the defender prop for the n20s. looks like i have no choice now...

i'm not has good as some people here, but with try and errors. i chould get something.

at the sametime now i'm trying, to something with a set of defender guts i have...
novielo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 09:33 PM
  #2482
novielo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: st-jerome, QC, CANADA
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

i will try with the n20 and defender props. my only concern was that i tought that the 2 n20 at 10-15grams where way to much to make it fly...
novielo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 11:50 PM
  #2483
FERNDALE AIR FORCE
 
FERNDALE AIR FORCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: lost coast, CA
Posts: 7,007
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

If the weight is attached to the upper wing, on CG, how does it cause a pendulum effect? Assuming no aero problems.
FERNDALE AIR FORCE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 12:28 AM
  #2484
frank10
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , OH
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

Repair question

I got a gouge on the upper surface of my top wing. it goes almost from front to back.

any suggestions for smoothing it out and/or filling it in?
frank10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 01:50 AM
  #2485
FERNDALE AIR FORCE
 
FERNDALE AIR FORCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: lost coast, CA
Posts: 7,007
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

Frank, I repair mine with Scotch tape, specifically the gift wrap tape. It is the one they market with purple colors. It seems to be a little thicker and have better glue. Just run it over your gouge.


To all, I just ordered a Picco z and silverlit's other helo. Given my luck with helo's that might have been overreaching. But, given that getting silverlit product here is an issue I went for it. They are both marked as back-order, but where I live they would have to be old to be available locally. Here is the site hobbypeople.net. They also have the UFO, but it is a stripped version, no camera, no lights. BTW, I dunked my winner 232 and assume it is toast.
FERNDALE AIR FORCE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 02:05 AM
  #2486
FERNDALE AIR FORCE
 
FERNDALE AIR FORCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: lost coast, CA
Posts: 7,007
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

The other heli is called the gyrotor, it is the big brother to the picco z. Same rotor tail setup. little rotor(balancer?) on top, main rotor underneath, and a 3 pladed prop on the rear. Mounted in a push/pull position.
FERNDALE AIR FORCE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 02:14 AM
  #2487
Smooth_Puddin
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Marietta, OH
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

Just bought me an aero ace the other day and love it. Thing climbs like no other and flys straight as an arrow. I have something that has happens to it on a daily basis when I get it around 100 or so feet in the air. Birds! Today it happend again, I was flying it up around 100 feet and all these birds started flying around it coming out of trees. There was around 20 birds flying in circles with it and one by one they would go after the plane trying to take it out. Really cool to see, my g/f and neighbors couldnt believe there eyes. Has anything like this ever happened to any of you guys? Tommorow or sometime soon I'm gonna have my g/f tape it and show you guys what im talking about. Pretty cool!

Smooth_Puddin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 06:37 AM
  #2488
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: novielo



i'm not has good as some people here, but with try and errors. i chould get something.

at the sametime now i'm trying, to something with a set of defender guts i have...
Never say that. With me it's 90% error, but that's when I learn the most and, oddly enough,
find it most fun because I'm challenged.
You completed the FET mod. To me that's amazing. I couldn't do it. I thought the RX was
scrap. Now it's worth more than a stock RX.

The Defender RX will fly a plane after you chuck the switch and lighten it up but you don't
have speed control. It can take some abuse and will run on an AA lipo. It's a bit heavy so
build a light but good sized wing. Would be great for a boat.
Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 06:48 AM
  #2489
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Smooth_Puddin

Birds! Today it happend again, I was flying it up around 100 feet and all these birds started flying around it coming out of trees. There was around 20 birds flying in circles with it and one by one they would go after the plane trying to take it out. Really cool to see, my g/f and neighbors couldnt believe there eyes. Has anything like this ever happened to any of you guys?

What is it with birds and AA's?

Yeah, this seems to be a common occurence.
I don't think they see it as another bird. More of a threat or pest.
You're invading their territory and I find you can't out fly em.
I'm waiting for the day when one takes a chunk out of my plane.
Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 08:46 AM
  #2490
novielo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: st-jerome, QC, CANADA
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

thanks neurotex, i will for sure continue 'till i get something flying.

here's a pic of what i'm trying to do with the defender guts.
it's raw and ugly but it will fly, i tried it yesterday... not the best flight ever. but at least it did fly, i have to balance everything again 'cause it flown more sideways then straight.
btw, i did not removed anything of the original rx, all the plastic, plugs, and nicad are still there... i will balance everything and then i will remove all the excessive weight, balance again. it will be a part of my lerning to know the difference between, what's to heavy and what's ok...
the material use is what i could found here (i don't have a hobby shop in an area less then 50 km (35 miles)). so i did my best with material.
- pink foam shaped with a homemade wire cutter for wings and fuse, foam plates for the tail , a bamboo skew for the boom and the traditional tape and rubber band.
novielo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 08:52 AM
  #2491
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: novielo

i will try with the n20 and defender props. my only concern was that i tought that the 2 n20 at 10-15grams where way to much to make it fly...
I forget the difference in weight between the stock AA motors and the N20's with
props but I believe they only add about 2 to 3 grams more weight. You definately
have to remove the black plastic motor mount casings the Defender uses. They're
just junk weight.
The wing area on the jet is enough to handle the extra weight. If you want it to climb
even more try hollowing out some of the foam on the fuselage. Might be able to get
rid of a gram or two there.
Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 09:02 AM
  #2492
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: novielo

i did not removed anything of the original rx, all the plastic, plugs, and nicad are still there... i will balance everything and then i will remove all the excessive weight, balance again. it will be a part of my lerning to know the difference between, what's to heavy and what's ok...
micro says that you should have 1 inch of wing area for every gram of weight.
So a mere 25 sq. inch wing will carry 25 grams of aeroplane.
My planes come out heavy because I spare no glue in reinforcing everything.
They hold up better in a crash so it's less glue latter.
Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 09:27 AM
  #2493
novielo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: st-jerome, QC, CANADA
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

here's the pics... had trouble with my camera, i had to re-install everything ... i think i hate win xp!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd91054.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	509574   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up48806.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	509575   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bh94590.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	57.9 KB
ID:	509576  
novielo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 09:40 AM
  #2494
novielo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: st-jerome, QC, CANADA
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

so, do you think these are n20?? i'm still not sure at all... they seem to be realy bigger then yours neurotex..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74414.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	509580  
novielo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:19 AM
  #2495
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: novielo

here's the pics...
What's the wing area on that bird and how much does it weigh?
You could also save some weight by cutting that airfoil down a bit.

[link=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airfoil]airfoil[/link]

That motor isn't an N20. It looks simular to the motor I pulled out of my Air Hog's Rush plane.
And that motor was truly a hog. Weighed too much for what I wanted.
Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:34 AM
  #2496
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

Looks like you already have the N20's.
If that's a Defender motor mounted to your wing, which it looks
like to me, then there's an N20 under all that plastic casing.
Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 11:08 AM
  #2497
novielo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: st-jerome, QC, CANADA
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

yes, it's a defender motor. tought it wasn't a n20 that i had. where do you get them, the n20?

i also tought that the airfoil was a bit to fat. i'll keep the flat botom design but with less thickness.

a big thanks also for the wiki link, didn't saw that page yet. i tooked the airfoil from an old timer model (in fact the first flat bottm i have found....) traced directly from the pc screen!!!
novielo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 11:25 AM
  #2498
vermontflyer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: burlington, VT
Posts: 3
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

Hello all,

I have been folowing this thread for a while now and have decided to get the ace as my first plane. The problem is there are none to be found in my area (Burlington Vermont). I Se that people have had some probelms with the occasional "dud" and wree able to retrun them. If I buy on lne I would end up paying more in shipping than if I spent more and got a different plane. Any suggestions as to possible other planes that are as user fiendly and easy to fly? The ideal would be that they are about the sam e cost (under $50).
vermontflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 11:31 AM
  #2499
Neurotex
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

I can't find anyone around here that will sell just the motors.
I pulled all of mine out of AH EZ Chargers planes. Picked up another
EZ Charger at a garage sale for $3.

Megabyte has a survey on his page about the demand for N20's. Maybe if he's bugged
enough he'll pick up a load.
Neurotex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 12:24 PM
  #2500
FERNDALE AIR FORCE
 
FERNDALE AIR FORCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: lost coast, CA
Posts: 7,007
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Air Hogs Aero Ace!

Vermont, I haven't found anything else. The best bet is to order a plane in the b or c channels.
FERNDALE AIR FORCE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:08 AM.