Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Reply
Old 12-20-2012, 01:04 AM
  #1251
xrboss
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Qld, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: xrboss

Finally had the maiden flight on Sunday. Very uneventful, zero trim change from my bench setup, not one click of trim change.

Setup much like many here in this thread.
HiMax 210
APC 20.5 X 14
CC HV80 ESC 30% Brake
2x5s5000mAh FlightMax 20C

2xs9650 Elevators
2xDS831 Ailerons
DS8715 Rudder

Stabs 0 degree
Wing 0.5 degree

Some pics from today.




Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37720.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	190.0 KB
ID:	1832154   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av68206.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	169.0 KB
ID:	1832155  
xrboss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:39 PM
  #1252
JonPa
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: hilliard, OH
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

I have noticed that many people using futaba servos (9650s for eles; 9551 for ailerons; 9156 for rudder) are using different arms such as the Dubro super strength or aluminum arms. Is there any reason not to use the supplied arms, especially given that generally low rates are used on this plane? I like using the X-type arms so you can rotate it on the servo in order to make sure the arm is perfectly perpendicular to the servo. Just wondering if there is any problem with the supplied arms that I cant think of.

Jon
JonPa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:45 AM
  #1253
jetmech43
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 1,665
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

you can use them, they may not be long enough if you use them on the elevators
jetmech43 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:39 AM
  #1254
nonstoprc
 
nonstoprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 2,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

There is also the neat factor and maybe slightly weight advantage.
nonstoprc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:54 AM
  #1255
can773
 
can773's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 2,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: JonPa

I have noticed that many people using futaba servos (9650s for eles; 9551 for ailerons; 9156 for rudder) are using different arms such as the Dubro super strength or aluminum arms. Is there any reason not to use the supplied arms, especially given that generally low rates are used on this plane? I like using the X-type arms so you can rotate it on the servo in order to make sure the arm is perfectly perpendicular to the servo. Just wondering if there is any problem with the supplied arms that I cant think of.

Jon
I always use the stock arms on Futaba servos, unless they are not long enough. Otherwise there is nothing wrong with using them, they also make getting a perfect 90 deg from the servo to the linkage much easier than an aftermarket single horn.
can773 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:16 AM
  #1256
Flyer88
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CALGARY, AB, CANADA
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Hey Chad
How many oz's you running on rudder and at what voltage ?
And what the length of the horn.

Thx
Flyer88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:09 AM
  #1257
can773
 
can773's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 2,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Flyer88

Hey Chad
How many oz's you running on rudder and at what voltage ?
And what the length of the horn.

Thx
Running this one,

http://www.gpdealera.com/cgi-bin/wga...pgm?I=FUTM0731

At 7.2V. The arm on the rudder is the big Dubro HD one, but I will go back to the large Futaba wheel as I needed to ATV back the rudder a bit since the large Dubro was too much throw.

I am also going to try one of these, but not sure it will make much difference.

http://www.gpdealera.com/cgi-bin/wga...pgm?I=FUTM0735
can773 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 12:40 PM
  #1258
Flyer88
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CALGARY, AB, CANADA
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Do any Futaba servos use Magnetic Induction for positioning yet.
I know the only Hitec is the 7990m at 630oz .... Kinda overkill for these planes.
Flyer88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 01:13 PM
  #1259
can773
 
can773's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 2,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Flyer88

Do any Futaba servos use Magnetic Induction for positioning yet.
I know the only Hitec is the 7990m at 630oz .... Kinda overkill for these planes.
Not that I am aware of.
can773 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:05 PM
  #1260
pvogel
 
pvogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Flyer88

Do any Futaba servos use Magnetic Induction for positioning yet.
I know the only Hitec is the 7990m at 630oz .... Kinda overkill for these planes.
Several of the JR WV series brushless servos use hall sensing for positioning, but they are a little large + heavy for anything but rudder and maybe aileron.

Peter+
pvogel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:23 PM
  #1261
Flyer88
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CALGARY, AB, CANADA
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

That's where I was kind of excited about these Hobby King servos because they're fairly lite and very accurate and obviously very affordable.
Flyer88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:59 PM
  #1262
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Glen buy them and let us know how they work that way it will save us crashing
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:07 PM
  #1263
Flyer88
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CALGARY, AB, CANADA
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Not out to prove anything
Just sharing info.
Merry Christmas Dennis
Flyer88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 01:45 PM
  #1264
g_mkoch
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 315
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

can someone provide me with the correct lenght and thread size to install a Himax 210

Happy Landings
g_mkoch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:44 AM
  #1265
JonPa
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: hilliard, OH
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Just wondering if people are crossing the rudder pull-pull cables or not? For some reason I cant find any comments on this topic.
JonPa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:50 AM
  #1266
pvogel
 
pvogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Mine are crossed
pvogel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:26 AM
  #1267
JonPa
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: hilliard, OH
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Thanks for the information. Are you also using an offset servo arm?

Jon
JonPa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:44 PM
  #1268
pvogel
 
pvogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

You only need an offset servo arm if the rudder control points aren't directly over the hinge line, since they are, you don't need an offset.

Peter+
pvogel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:52 PM
  #1269
Walfam
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 180
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

HI Arch,

I am working on my vanquish and I have a question. What is the trick of getting the pull pull wires up thru the fusilage? It that one place in the back was not there it would be easy. Up here in the NW the vanquish has been very popular. Also, this was an excellent build thread I fly intermediate (just moved up) and looking forward to getting this puppy in the air.

Thanking you in advance

Wayne Lovett
District 8
Walfam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:22 PM
  #1270
JonPa
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: hilliard, OH
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Walfam

HI Arch,

I am working on my vanquish and I have a question. What is the trick of getting the pull pull wires up thru the fusilage? It that one place in the back was not there it would be easy. Up here in the NW the vanquish has been very popular. Also, this was an excellent build thread I fly intermediate (just moved up) and looking forward to getting this puppy in the air.

Thanking you in advance

Wayne Lovett
District 8
Wayne,

I just used a piece of stiff music wire that I taped to the tip of the pull pull cable. Then I routed it from the back through the slot in the fuselage. You only need to push it about 1-1.5 feet through to be able to grab the cable from the front and pull it through. Not as hard as it looks.


Jon
JonPa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:45 PM
  #1271
jetmech43
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 1,665
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

I got my girl to fish it through for me she has skinnier arms and better eye sight
jetmech43 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:26 AM
  #1272
flier1
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: LIVERPOOL, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

Just about to start my build, have people used the mylar hinges or replaced them with pinned hinges, never been a great fan of them and only used them on small planes in the past. Thanks Keith.
flier1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:05 AM
  #1273
jetmech43
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 1,665
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

I used radio south pro hinges, never had a failure
jetmech43 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 01:04 PM
  #1274
SteveRoss
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

I just got my Vanquish. It came with Robart style hinges. Anyone using them? I was also going to use a Hacker A60-7s but it does not fit - too long and the x mount is too large and the holes do not match those supplied on the fuse. I don't want to start modifying the nose. Any suggestions?
Steve
SteveRoss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 02:32 PM
  #1275
jetmech43
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 1,665
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Extreme Flight Vanquish 2m Build Thread

the plane is designed around the fury torque motor, im useing the eflite power 160 in mine and it fits with only have to move one of the holes in the fire wall I know people have used other motors, im not sure what you have to do to get your hacker to fit, I wouldnt want to modify the nose.
jetmech43 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:14 PM.