Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Nuance

Reply
Old 10-25-2012, 04:22 AM
  #426
rcpattern
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,860
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

I wont say it can't be done, but it could be very tough. The top of the fuse extends back quite a ways on the Nuance, so getting a motor that must be rear mounted could be difficult. If you go to post #8 in this thread you can see a nice top down view. The motor shown is an inrunner and is much longer. I wont say it can't happen, but it could be difficult. There are a lot of people out there smarter than I am though, and I'm sure they can have some ideas. Fortunately, the fuse is fair deep, and you may be able to build a firewall and then install the motor from underneath the firewall.

Arch
rcpattern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:52 AM
  #427
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Good observation Archie,..


Bill
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:52 AM
  #428
bdawg50
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: crosby, TX
Posts: 51
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Good observations Archie. Looking at the pic I can see some potential problems. It also gives me an idea. If there's enough width, one might posibbly be able to make a firewall that comes in from the back and attach to some side plates that are fixed to the fuse sides and bottom.
bdawg50 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:53 AM
  #429
underdw
 
underdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erie CO
Posts: 356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Several of us have installed rear mount Pletty outrunners. I'm not familiar with the A60, but if it will fit in through the nose ring, it should work.
If memory serves, the spinner is 82mm, so your motor OD should be several mm smaller than this in order to fit through.
Arch's approach might work too.
Figuring out the firewall shape is a pain, but is quite do-able.
Dan
underdw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:12 AM
  #430
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

I've rear mounted 3 Nuance/ Prolog planes now. We have the firewall template and it's a snap. we've been using the Himax 210 in the planes which is very similar. If anyone wants the template I can email it to you.
FWIWthe nose on the Prolog/ Nuance and the Episode are all pretty much the same.
Mike Mueller
mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:16 AM
  #431
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance


Quote:
ORIGINAL: underdw

Several of us have installed rear mount Pletty outrunners. I'm not familiar with the A60, but if it will fit in through the nose ring, it should work.
If memory serves, the spinner is 82mm, so your motor OD should be several mm smaller than this in order to fit through.
Arch's approach might work too.
Figuring out the firewall shape is a pain, but is quite do-able.
Dan
The spinner size is in fact 70mm or 2.75 inches. It's a snug front end. Mike
mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 06:36 AM
  #432
patternflyer1
Thread Starter
 
patternflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,074
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

I don't think the a60 is any bigger than the pletty so it should fit fine. There is no nose ring installed so mounting a firewall is fairly straight forward. And the plane is light so it should be fine.

Chris
patternflyer1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 06:59 AM
  #433
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

I have both and I believe the A60 is a smidgen smaller.

Bill
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:01 AM
  #434
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance


Quote:
ORIGINAL: TonyF

I don't think it matters much but I mounted mine perpendicular to each stab half.
If the amount of vertical area is small, I tend to agree, it wouldn't matter much. But if it's rather large, say greater than 10 sq inches or so, angled surfaces induce dihedral/anhedral effect thatcould affect roll stability in yaw.

On the other hand, if yours has some roll couple, it is one effective way of countering the couple, rather than doing it electronically
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:46 AM
  #435
Portlandflyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

I also have a Nuance with a Himax 210 and know of at least six other Nuance/Prolog’s that have outrunners. I looked at my install this morning and I could have set the firewall back at least another 1/8 of an inch. Also, I used ¼ inch Dragon plate for the firewall which was overkill; 3/16 would have been plenty. So, with a 3/16 inch firewall, I could have come back at least another 3/16. To get the Himax in from the front you have to grind down the nose ring a bunch, but it’s still plenty stiff.
There actually is a way to put an outrunner into almost any plane without going in from the front. What you do is build a regular outrunner firewall and cut a hole in the center that allows the motor to slip in from the back. You then build a second “smaller” firewall that the motor mounts to. This firewall is bolted to the main firewall from behind with blind nuts. The way you install it, is to mount the motor and firewalls together and slip it into the fuselage from inside. Put on a spacer and the spinner backplate, then tape the whole concoction to the nose. You then epoxy the main firewall in from the back; remove the motor and epoxy from the front.
With this method you can put in pretty much any length and diameter motor.
Portlandflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:06 AM
  #436
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Portlandflyer

I also have a Nuance with a Himax 210 and know of at least six other Nuance/Prolog’s that have outrunners. I looked at my install this morning and I could have set the firewall back at least another 1/8 of an inch. Also, I used ¼ inch Dragon plate for the firewall which was overkill; 3/16 would have been plenty. So, with a 3/16 inch firewall, I could have come back at least another 3/16. To get the Himax in from the front you have to grind down the nose ring a bunch, but it’s still plenty stiff.
There actually is a way to put an outrunner into almost any plane without going in from the front. What you do is build a regular outrunner firewall and cut a hole in the center that allows the motor to slip in from the back. You then build a second “smaller” firewall that the motor mounts to. This firewall is bolted to the main firewall from behind with blind nuts. The way you install it, is to mount the motor and firewalls together and slip it into the fuselage from inside. Put on a spacer and the spinner backplate, then tape the whole concoction to the nose. You then epoxy the main firewall in from the back; remove the motor and epoxy from the front.
With this method you can put in pretty much any length and diameter motor.
Good idea. I've seen Dave Snow use a home madeX Mount and do it that way. Mike
mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:59 AM
  #437
Dsnow
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Here are some pictures of the mount, the carbon plate can be cut into an X shape to reduce weight. The firewall glued to the fuse is 1/4" lite ply.

Dave Snow
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84992.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	116.4 KB
ID:	1814584   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw72632.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	127.9 KB
ID:	1814585   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qv55932.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	127.8 KB
ID:	1814586   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kd89920.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	173.3 KB
ID:	1814587   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uf51108.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	170.7 KB
ID:	1814588  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Pg61939.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	212.5 KB
ID:	1814589  
Dsnow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:48 AM
  #438
Portlandflyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Dave and Mike,

Yep, that's it. With the Himax 210, you could probably use the aluminum X bracket that comes with the motor.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj23116.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	1814732  
Portlandflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:59 AM
  #439
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

You could use the X mount but it's tight. Also it's pretty heavy.
I cut the nose out and do it thru the front. Mostly because I'm comfortable with the tecnique. Mike
mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:01 PM
  #440
Dsnow
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

I'm not sure the legs of the X stick out past the motor can far enough but it would make a good template to start with if the legs are too short.

Dave Snow
Dsnow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:04 PM
  #441
Portlandflyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Mike,

>>I agree. You wouldn’t need to use it with the Nuance or Prolog. Just grind out the nose and come in from the front like normal. I just thought it could work in other installations.

Portlandflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:28 PM
  #442
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

I will caution you that the hole is pretty big and it leaves very little meat on the nose. I think of it as more area for cooling to get into the motor. Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30192.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	1814756  
mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 02:31 PM
  #443
danamania
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stewartsville, NJ
Posts: 415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

I have a Himax 210 in my Vanquish, it is a terrific motor for the money.  OTOH, that's a lot of material to hack off the nose of a Nuance; once it is gone, does that limit upgrading the motor down the line?  Just a thought.  Cheers!
danamania is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:57 AM
  #444
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

No Dana it doesn't really effect anything negativly. There's still a lot of strength in there. If you did something like a Pletty Advance it would require a ring to be fabricated that would still have enough lip to accomodate the install.
The main reason it looks like there's little left is the smal diameter of the nose 70mm. Also with a full covering spinner it never shows
Here's a pic of a Prolog I built for my buddy Mark Doucey. It has the new Tru Turn 2.75 inch Turbo Cool anodysed spinner that we carry.
Mike Mueller
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq46958.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	1814895  
mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:04 AM
  #445
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Also while I'm at it I should mention that we are now doing some limited building services. We can take any of the ARF's we carry and actually do most of the building so the planes are turnkey when delivered. You have to be somewhatpatient but for the people who lack the skills or have the resources and no time we have acouple ofbuilders who can help you.
I think I have the shipping part figured out. What we do is leave the rudder hinges undone and that we we can repack into the original crates. If interested we can talk about it.
mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:42 AM
  #446
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

mups53,


Please send me a building schedule of pricing and services offered. PM me please or I can give you my email.

I fall in the catagory of "can build and paint very well, no time to do so, no longer have the facilities to do so".


Thanks,


Bill Holsten
Dist-2
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:10 PM
  #447
SanJoseDale
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Just ordered the pink Nuance, couldn't resist the free shipping.

Does anyone have a template for the Pletty Advance?


Dale
SanJoseDale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:42 PM
  #448
shannah
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: placentia, CA
Posts: 1,079
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Hey Dale,
Good Choice!
Check out my post on the Episode thread for the Pletty Advance. I think it's post #122. It's pretty simple, just a disk with a slightly elongated base.

Steve
shannah is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:56 PM
  #449
Portlandflyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Send me your email. Ihave one.
Portlandflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:07 PM
  #450
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Nuance

Posted this on the Prolog thread but wanted to share it here because they are so closely related...

Guys after thinking about this for a bit I thought the Prolog could use a minor facelift. We tested the new canopy on our Prolog Version 2 today. The new canopy that we got this week from the factory looks and works great. The only difference Brandon and I could tell is the plane rolls even better now. It rolls like the Nuance but has the soild stable feel that I've grown to love on the Prolog.
It'll be a while but we plan on bringing the Prolog V2 to market with a modified paint scheme in the not too distant future.
We are looking into making the canopy's available as a refofit for those who would like to do this upgrade.
Thanks, Mike Mueller
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec89746.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	166.3 KB
ID:	1819168  
mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:28 AM.