Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 18 of 27 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast
Results 426 to 450 of 656

Thread: Nuance


  1. #426
    rcpattern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Great Mills, MD
    Posts
    2,835
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I wont say it can't be done, but it could be very tough. The top of the fuse extends back quite a ways on the Nuance, so getting a motor that must be rear mounted could be difficult. If you go to post #8 in this thread you can see a nice top down view. The motor shown is an inrunner and is much longer. I wont say it can't happen, but it could be difficult. There are a lot of people out there smarter than I am though, and I'm sure they can have some ideas. Fortunately, the fuse is fair deep, and you may be able to build a firewall and then install the motor from underneath the firewall.

    Arch
    Team Futaba, Aero-Model / Hacker, Tech Aero Designs, F3A Unlimited, Team BJ Craft, Thunder Power RC, Castle Creations

  2. #427
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,078
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Good observation Archie,..


    Bill

  3. #428

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    crosby, TX
    Posts
    44
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Good observations Archie. Looking at the pic I can see some potential problems. It also gives me an idea. If there's enough width, one might posibbly be able to make a firewall that comes in from the back and attach to some side plates that are fixed to the fuse sides and bottom.

  4. #429

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Lafayette, CO CO
    Posts
    309
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Several of us have installed rear mount Pletty outrunners. I'm not familiar with the A60, but if it will fit in through the nose ring, it should work.
    If memory serves, the spinner is 82mm, so your motor OD should be several mm smaller than this in order to fit through.
    Arch's approach might work too.
    Figuring out the firewall shape is a pain, but is quite do-able.
    Dan

  5. #430

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I've rear mounted 3 Nuance/ Prolog planes now. We have the firewall template and it's a snap. we've been using the Himax 210 in the planes which is very similar. If anyone wants the template I can email it to you.
    FWIWthe nose on the Prolog/ Nuance and the Episode are all pretty much the same.
    Mike Mueller
    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America

  6. #431

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance


    ORIGINAL: underdw

    Several of us have installed rear mount Pletty outrunners. I'm not familiar with the A60, but if it will fit in through the nose ring, it should work.
    If memory serves, the spinner is 82mm, so your motor OD should be several mm smaller than this in order to fit through.
    Arch's approach might work too.
    Figuring out the firewall shape is a pain, but is quite do-able.
    Dan
    The spinner size is in fact 70mm or 2.75 inches. It's a snug front end. Mike
    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America

  7. #432
    patternflyer1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tracy, CA
    Posts
    2,052
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I don't think the a60 is any bigger than the pletty so it should fit fine. There is no nose ring installed so mounting a firewall is fairly straight forward. And the plane is light so it should be fine.

    Chris
    Team BJ Craft Team F3A Unlimited
    Team JR

  8. #433
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,078
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I have both and I believe the A60 is a smidgen smaller.

    Bill

  9. #434
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,748
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance


    ORIGINAL: TonyF

    I don't think it matters much but I mounted mine perpendicular to each stab half.
    If the amount of vertical area is small, I tend to agree, it wouldn't matter much. But if it's rather large, say greater than 10 sq inches or so, angled surfaces induce dihedral/anhedral effect thatcould affect roll stability in yaw.

    On the other hand, if yours has some roll couple, it is one effective way of countering the couple, rather than doing it electronically
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  10. #435

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    98
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I also have a Nuance with a Himax 210 and know of at least six other Nuance/Prolog’s that have outrunners. I looked at my install this morning and I could have set the firewall back at least another 1/8 of an inch. Also, I used ¼ inch Dragon plate for the firewall which was overkill; 3/16 would have been plenty. So, with a 3/16 inch firewall, I could have come back at least another 3/16. To get the Himax in from the front you have to grind down the nose ring a bunch, but it’s still plenty stiff.
    There actually is a way to put an outrunner into almost any plane without going in from the front. What you do is build a regular outrunner firewall and cut a hole in the center that allows the motor to slip in from the back. You then build a second “smaller” firewall that the motor mounts to. This firewall is bolted to the main firewall from behind with blind nuts. The way you install it, is to mount the motor and firewalls together and slip it into the fuselage from inside. Put on a spacer and the spinner backplate, then tape the whole concoction to the nose. You then epoxy the main firewall in from the back; remove the motor and epoxy from the front.
    With this method you can put in pretty much any length and diameter motor.

  11. #436

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance


    ORIGINAL: Portlandflyer

    I also have a Nuance with a Himax 210 and know of at least six other Nuance/Prolog’s that have outrunners. I looked at my install this morning and I could have set the firewall back at least another 1/8 of an inch. Also, I used ¼ inch Dragon plate for the firewall which was overkill; 3/16 would have been plenty. So, with a 3/16 inch firewall, I could have come back at least another 3/16. To get the Himax in from the front you have to grind down the nose ring a bunch, but it’s still plenty stiff.
    There actually is a way to put an outrunner into almost any plane without going in from the front. What you do is build a regular outrunner firewall and cut a hole in the center that allows the motor to slip in from the back. You then build a second “smaller” firewall that the motor mounts to. This firewall is bolted to the main firewall from behind with blind nuts. The way you install it, is to mount the motor and firewalls together and slip it into the fuselage from inside. Put on a spacer and the spinner backplate, then tape the whole concoction to the nose. You then epoxy the main firewall in from the back; remove the motor and epoxy from the front.
    With this method you can put in pretty much any length and diameter motor.
    Good idea. I've seen Dave Snow use a home madeX Mount and do it that way. Mike
    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America

  12. #437

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Palatine, IL
    Posts
    142
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Here are some pictures of the mount, the carbon plate can be cut into an X shape to reduce weight. The firewall glued to the fuse is 1/4" lite ply.

    Dave Snow
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Db84992.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	116.4 KB 
ID:	1814584   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bw72632.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	127.9 KB 
ID:	1814585   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qv55932.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	127.8 KB 
ID:	1814586   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Kd89920.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	173.3 KB 
ID:	1814587   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Uf51108.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	170.7 KB 
ID:	1814588  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pg61939.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	212.5 KB 
ID:	1814589  

  13. #438

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    98
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Dave and Mike,

    Yep, that's it. With the Himax 210, you could probably use the aluminum X bracket that comes with the motor.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lj23116.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	63.1 KB 
ID:	1814732  

  14. #439

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    You could use the X mount but it's tight. Also it's pretty heavy.
    I cut the nose out and do it thru the front. Mostly because I'm comfortable with the tecnique. Mike
    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America

  15. #440

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Palatine, IL
    Posts
    142
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I'm not sure the legs of the X stick out past the motor can far enough but it would make a good template to start with if the legs are too short.

    Dave Snow

  16. #441

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    98
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Mike,

    >>I agree. You wouldn’t need to use it with the Nuance or Prolog. Just grind out the nose and come in from the front like normal. I just thought it could work in other installations.


  17. #442

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I will caution you that the hole is pretty big and it leaves very little meat on the nose. I think of it as more area for cooling to get into the motor. Mike
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nl30192.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	74.0 KB 
ID:	1814756  
    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America

  18. #443

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stewartsville, NJ
    Posts
    398
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I have a Himax 210 in my Vanquish, it is a terrific motor for the money.  OTOH, that's a lot of material to hack off the nose of a Nuance; once it is gone, does that limit upgrading the motor down the line?  Just a thought.  Cheers!
    Good Flying! Dana
    4449NSRC AMA

  19. #444

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    No Dana it doesn't really effect anything negativly. There's still a lot of strength in there. If you did something like a Pletty Advance it would require a ring to be fabricated that would still have enough lip to accomodate the install.
    The main reason it looks like there's little left is the smal diameter of the nose 70mm. Also with a full covering spinner it never shows
    Here's a pic of a Prolog I built for my buddy Mark Doucey. It has the new Tru Turn 2.75 inch Turbo Cool anodysed spinner that we carry.
    Mike Mueller
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sq46958.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	71.7 KB 
ID:	1814895  
    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America

  20. #445

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Also while I'm at it I should mention that we are now doing some limited building services. We can take any of the ARF's we carry and actually do most of the building so the planes are turnkey when delivered. You have to be somewhatpatient but for the people who lack the skills or have the resources and no time we have acouple ofbuilders who can help you.
    I think I have the shipping part figured out. What we do is leave the rudder hinges undone and that we we can repack into the original crates. If interested we can talk about it.
    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America

  21. #446
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,078
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    mups53,


    Please send me a building schedule of pricing and services offered. PM me please or I can give you my email.

    I fall in the catagory of "can build and paint very well, no time to do so, no longer have the facilities to do so".


    Thanks,


    Bill Holsten
    Dist-2

  22. #447

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    143
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Just ordered the pink Nuance, couldn't resist the free shipping.

    Does anyone have a template for the Pletty Advance?


    Dale

  23. #448

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    placentia, CA
    Posts
    966
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Hey Dale,
    Good Choice!
    Check out my post on the Episode thread for the Pletty Advance. I think it's post #122. It's pretty simple, just a disk with a slightly elongated base.

    Steve
    Team BJCraft

  24. #449

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    98
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Send me your email. Ihave one.

  25. #450

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Posted this on the Prolog thread but wanted to share it here because they are so closely related...

    Guys after thinking about this for a bit I thought the Prolog could use a minor facelift. We tested the new canopy on our Prolog Version 2 today. The new canopy that we got this week from the factory looks and works great. The only difference Brandon and I could tell is the plane rolls even better now. It rolls like the Nuance but has the soild stable feel that I've grown to love on the Prolog.
    It'll be a while but we plan on bringing the Prolog V2 to market with a modified paint scheme in the not too distant future.
    We are looking into making the canopy's available as a refofit for those who would like to do this upgrade.
    Thanks, Mike Mueller
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ec89746.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	166.3 KB 
ID:	1819168  
    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America


Page 18 of 27 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.